Juneathon Day 12 – Back Pedal

Hello there,

Today I had high hopes for activities and house chores but I only accomplished a quarter of the things I had listed to do. I did jump on the treadmill thinking it wouldn’t be so bad. I’ve been trying to settle a pace where my heart rate would be in the correct target zone because it’s quite often too high when I run freely outside, I thought the treadmill would be a good place to do this. I also wanted to watch soccer while I ran… I didn’t want to miss the game. In the end, I only made it a little over 2 KMs on the dreadmill, a little under 15 minutes. To get to my personal goal of 30 minutes of physical activity every day to count for Juneathon Day 12, I sat on my stationary bike for 16 minutes to cover 6.57 KMs. Here’s the view:
20140612-194957-71397649.jpg

I unfortunately haven’t done anything else other than going for a walk to the grocery store, some dishes, and laundry.

I did get to work on my blog a little bit. I’ve added the two charities I am fundraising for this year. Check out the links at the top of the page or you can make a donation to either one here: The Terry Fox Foundation: DONATE NOW , or the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation : DONATE NOW. Any donation is not too small, even a dollar can go a long way.

Exercise of the day… Back Pedal. Similar to backwards running, there are some great benefits of doing this exercise: reduced risks of leg and back injuries, helps create a stronger lower body, works muscles that you wouldn’t work running normally, and apparently helps with losing weight quicker. Here’s 100 Reasons to Run Backwards!

Here’s how to Back Pedal / Run Backwards:
20140612-202536-73536454.jpg
20140612-203215-73935496.jpg
In the NTC, I do this for 1 minute straight. I Back Pedal about 6 steps back, turn around and do another 6, and continue until the minute is up.

Happy Back Pedalling/Running!!

rundmach
20140612-203334-74014905.jpg

Categories: Juneathon | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 12 – Back Pedal

  1. Terry Fox a Canadian hero, good luck with the fund raising

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.