Juneathon Day 11 – Pretzel Stretch

Hey there!

I want to blog so much but my arms and hands are tired from my first session at the driving range tonight. Woohoo! I finally made it out; better late than never. In addition to spending time at the driving range (yes, I count this as an activity, trust me, if your muscles get sore the next day, it counts), I completed a lovely 5k run today! Juneathon is turning out to be a better success than Janathon! I swear, I’m in permanent exhaustion but I have the next two days off so I get to sleep and do house work to keep me busy. Today’s run for Day 11 of Juneathon was fantastic. I gave myself the easy way out and ran a relatively flat route instead of my usual tougher route. Success! I have now completed what I think is my fastest 5k!!!!!!! I completed it in 33:54 (mm:ss)!!!!! I only say think because my stats are all messed up from when I first started running. My iPod was telling me I was running 5k but really I was not even close. Anyways, after digging a bit, this is my fastest 5k time since last May. Yay!!!! Celebration time!!! I honestly don’t know how I slowed down so much. Probably just laziness. Feels good to be a little faster again and confident!

Today’s exercise…. Is…. Actually a stretch. I’m pretty stiff and sore now already after the driving range so stretching will be sooo good. I know I did a specific runners stretch feature, but this one is a good stretch all around. I also like doing this regardless if I’ve just finished a workout or not; the Pretzel (elbow-to-knee) stretch. It’s primarily best for your obliques but is also good for your lower back and glutes! So, if you work at a desk all day and have to sit, this is a nice little lower back stretch.

Here’s how to Pretzel (elbow-to-knee) Stretch:
20140611-230336-83016758.jpg
1. Sit up straight with your legs straight and flat in front of you
2. Cross one leg over the other, placing your foot over and flat on the ground next to the knee
3. With your opposite arm of the bent leg, cross your arm over the outside of the bent knee, twist back from your hips and breath, count to 20 (or 10 or 30, it’s your stretch, do what feels good)
4. Repeat for the opposite side

That’s it folks. I’m all beat up. Wishing I was a way better golfer but I’ll just have to keep practicing. At least I’m getting better at this whole running thing! 🙂

Happy Running & Pretzeling!

rundmach
20140611-231054-83454544.jpg

Categories: Juneathon | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.