Juneathon Day 13 – Walking & Walk Outs

Hello Hello!

My day started out early heading into the city for a doctors appointment. My annual check up…guess what? My doctor weighed me and told me I’m not allowed to gain anymore weight or I’ll be in the high risk zone… He asked if I recently gained a lot. I had to tell him I actually just lost 4 pounds in the last four weeks and I have been working extremely hard trying to lose weight in the last year. That was pretty upsetting and hurt quite a bit hearing it from my doctor that I CANNOT gain another pound. Well, after this I had the rest of the day off. I knew I was meeting my mom for a late lunch with her and some friends so I spent the next 4 hours just walking around. I did stop a bit to shop but spent most of the time just walking… To help compare just how much I walked today, on Wednesday, I ran 5k and I had about 9800 steps, today, my day isn’t over and I’m over 15000 steps. I even opted to walk the 30 minutes to the train station to go home instead of taking a bus. I walked everywhere today, as much as I could thinking I would use this as Juneathon activities. The last image shows all the benefits of walking; I am skeptical to believe it’s better than jogging though… Anyways, walking is great exercise too! Let’s be real here, I started a new NTC program Tuesday and today was a 45 minute Tighten Up workout… I got home, unwound a bit, changed and off I went to sweat-land. I did opt to do the workouts as plan without the weights. Normally I add weights to squats and lunges, not today. The toughest part will be tomorrow’s workout; NTC calls for a 3 mile run… I’ll be up at 7 am heading to a golf tournament I will be playing in and then a BBQ. How will I muster up energy late at night after a full day of sun and 18 holes?! Golfing a full round I would count to Juneathon but NTC will not let me substitute or postpone workouts. If I miss one I get 0 for completion… What a dilemma! Hopefully I will be just as determined tomorrow night to accomplish the NTC workout as I was tonight, despite my sore feet.

Enough about my day and endeavours, here’s today’s workout: Walk outs. And I don’t meant walking out of your job if you sit at a desk because yes, that would be some exercise but might not be best for long term. The focus of this is on your core and getting you the abs you want! I don’t have them yet but hopefully the more I do of these, the closer I get.

Here’s how to do Walk Outs :
20140613-220017-79217516.jpg
1. Stand feet hip-width apart
2. Bend at your hips, keep your legs straight, bring your hands to the floor
3. Walk your hands forward until you are in a push up position / plank
4. Walk your hands back towards your feet, keeping your legs straight, repeat for a minute (I get about 5-6 done in a minute)
Note: use your core to push yourself back up without bending your knees

Happy Walking!

rundmach
20140613-220541-79541897.jpg

Categories: Juneathon | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 13 – Walking & Walk Outs

  1. Hope you were able to get your run in today! And I LOVE walkouts!

  2. I hate walk outs – always find it so hard to keep my legs straight! 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

