Janathon Day 5

You have to expect things of yourself before you can do them. – Michael Jordan

January 5 Run: 30:47 (mm:ss), 4.01 km, 7”40″/km
janathon day 5janathon-participant-logo

running inspiration rain hardcore

Not only does it make you feel 50% more hardcore; the way I see it, you actually are!!!

That’s what I’m talking about!!! Getting back into the groove and into what my pace should be. Yes, running is running but I’d like to set some goals. I’m not competing with anyone else but myself – so I’d just like to be running faster and stronger than I was last year. Today’s run was amazing – considering I had gone for a run later in the day yesterday, I thought today’s would be a slower recovery run done early in the morning. Well, it wasn’t quite as early as I’d hope but I got out the door by 10:30 am. Luckily, I missed all the freezing rain by the time I headed out to door. Is it bad, I’m slightly disappointed I didn’t get to run in the rain?

I am proud of this run not only because the pace is faster than what it has been lately, but because I knew I could go even faster! Why didn’t I? The route I was running still had quite a bit of snow and with the rain in the morning it was pretty slushy, uck! Luckily, I had my yaktrax on (they’re amazing!), and I did my run with short quick steps… they weren’t all super quick as this got pretty tiring pretty quickly! I was motivated to run on and hit each km within 7 minutes – I did 7 minute run plus 1 minute walk until I got to today’s goal of 4 kms. Did I just say that? I included walking in my run today and I ran a faster pace? Yup!! I need to get back onto proper training (interval runs, speed runs, hills, etc…) BUT I’m not making excuses, I’d just like to spend January and Janathon being active and enjoying life. Not everything has to be so serious. Just Be Happy 🙂

have fun serious

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Janathon Day 5

  1. Great post.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.