Snow Much Happiness

Remember that happiness is a way of travel, not a destination. – Roy L. Goodman

December 15 Run: 45:17 (mm:ss), 5.47 km, 8’16″/km

Woah woah woah, let’s cover one thing with this pace, I was running in snow and my watch kept telling me I was running at 5’s and 6’s the whole time!! Not to fret though, I got out and completed my run after skipping the run on Friday night. I’ve been sick the last two days – not cold sick from the weather but bathroom sick which means no rapid movement allowed. Sorry if that was too much info for you.

Anyways, I got out to do the Friday run I had missed today since I felt a little better, my stomach is still not 100% back to normal but I managed. We got hit here with a LOT of snow and I’m sure all my fellow runners in Southern Ontario know what I mean since this is our first “Major” snowstorm of the season. According to the news we got hit with 25-30 cm of snow yesterday. My run today was wonderful. Very very tough but wonderful. This challenge was different from any other I have done as the issue was not with breathing or wind, it was with pushing my legs to go harder and faster because the snow felt so packed and tough to move through. I ran on the roads (against traffic) since most sidewalks weren’t done yet. I had to do mine twice yesterday and again this morning twice…. Cars were very kind even if they gave me crazy eye. Thank you everyone who was out shovelling and clearing up the sidewalks as well as to those cautious drivers who didn’t honk at me 😀

run winter snow inspiration

No, this did not stop me from starting my run 🙂

snowb

Eventually I made a path… then made my way to the roads!

I was dressed well and had the weather on my side. No wind!! Or not a lot anyways. My second layer of socks were soaked when I got back from my run but I didn’t notice during my run so I’m happy about that. My gloves were a tad too warm and so was my fleece buff headband. I wore the same pants I mentioned in last post and they were greats. Legs stayed warm!! 😀 In the end, it was all wonderful!! Some fluffy snow dropped a little bit during my run, oh how much I loved it!! ❤ Some shovellers were looking at my like I was crazy and they looked pretty angry and miserable… Not sure why some people hate the snow so much and choose to live in Canada? 🙂

So, I’m one run behind and I will make it up. I haven’t decided if I’ll do 3 runs in a row or if I will just shift my runs down one. The current plan I am running is run every other day. I know I have procrastinated with putting it up so here it is: Run For Fat Loss. I’ve been slacking on cross-training as well and there’s no excuse but Christmas. Hopefully I can jump back on a full strength/cross-training plan again on my days off soon! Right now I just need my days off to work and get holiday stuff ready 😀

Anyways, off to shower and get some food in this belly!!

Happy Running!!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.