Janathon Day 28

The best way to predict the future is to invent it. – Alan Kay

January 28 Run: 25:00 (mm:ss), 3.40 km, 7’23″/km (iPod)
Janathon Day 28

Burrrrrr! It is cold outside! It’s not quite the temperature that’s cold, it’s the wind! It’s still going up to gusts of 50-54 kms! Thank goodness I have my treadmill! Yup, I’m saying it again, I like my treadmill. Today’s run was pretty great! I did what I’ll call an interval run, 1 minute on and 1 minute off. 5.3 mph on and 5.0 mph off. That’s a 7’02″/km on pace and a 7’27″/km off pace each minute. I did pretty awesome!! It was getting annoying having to click up up up, down down down every 60 seconds BUT it was so worth it because I just felt so strong being able to run 5.3 mph and having 5 mph seem “slow”. This run was still challenging but it was amazing!

Here we are with Day 28 completed for Janathon janathon-participant-logo with a 2.11 mile run and some strength training exercises. To continue on with my 29 day running streak, I have registered for 2 additional runs for this year. My running journey continues with a Valentine’s 5k on February 9 and a 10k in the Toronto Yonge Street 10k run on April 13. I am now up to 4 races registered for this year. Ideally, I’d like to be doing 1 a month but there are none in January so I’ll count my December 31st Resolution run as my January run. Besides, Running every day for Janathon is a big race on its own!

After signing up and looking at all these races, I would really like to be doing some charity work but I just don’t know how? I’ve exhausted my friends and co-workers over the last year. How do I go about asking for more donations? I know I can volunteer my time but I don’t feel like it’s as valuable as what the money can do for finding a cure, providing medical support, spreading awareness, and supporting those who really need it. If you are fundraising, please let me know, I’m not very well off but I would love to support a  good cause.

I’m still looking for motivation to run harder and stronger. Here’s the speech I listened to today and found the video online:

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Janathon Day 28

  1. Great job. I out did my expectations today and I feel good. I like your interval run idea – I may try that tomorrow. Thanks!

    • Congrats on outdoing your day!! The short intervals seemed to work tricking my brain thinking I was running “slow”! Good luck!

  2. ghostinthelivingroom

    Please follow my blog for a positive insight on life, daily quotes to get the day started, trivial statements and funny anecdotes. I’m a new blogger, but trust me, you will not be disappointed. Have a beautiful and blessed day 🙂

    From, the ghost in the living room

    http://ghostinthelivingroom.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.