Janathon Day 18

Once you replace negative thoughts with positive ones, you’ll start having positive results. – Willie Nelson

January 18 Run: 20:00 (mm:ss), 2.61 km, 7’45″/km (iPod)
janathon day 18

I may have wished for too much yesterday saying “Better Sore than Sorry” because today, I am SORE! I guess I’m not sorry at all but that extra speed, the little extra push for some more squats, and probably lack of stretching has caused my legs to be pretty sad today. When I stepped on the treadmill tonight (yes, don’t remind me that I was too lazy all day to run out in the sunlight), my quad/IT band area was still hurting quite a bit. Despite the stretching and foam roller session I did today to relax my legs, I felt like I was in a bit of pain. So, run it off! I decided I would cut my run short and run 1 km then get on the bike; the last thing I want to do is hurt myself and have to stop running all together for a while. Well, luckily, the pain subsided as I kept running so I completed the 20 minutes I had initially set out at what I’ll say is a pretty good pace for being in pain. On the crazy side today, my Nike+ watch which normally underestimates how much distance I’m doing on a treadmill decided it would bump up my self-esteem by saying I ran 2.74 kms at a 7’20″/km pace. I know, I can’t really trust the watch unless I’m out with GPS on (even though the point of the watch with a foot pod is for indoors)… Enough with the stats. I’m sore and so I did my strength exercises afterwards with some stretching. I did skip the squats today because well, I did 2 or 3 and my legs were screaming at me. I opted to do my squat reps in rotating sit ups.

#MegsMiles – Today’s mile was also ran for Meg. I won’t go into much detail other than my heart sinks each time I hear a tragedy like this. My heart goes out to her family. Find out more here.

Janathon janathon-participant-logo Day 18 Completed! 13 Days left but really, I hope it turns into a life time of habit!

inspirational quote lao tzu

I missed a shout out yesterday for Nick (Striding Towards Life) who’s doing a double-header, a 5k done today and his first marathon tomorrow! Can’t wait to read all about it! Good Luck Nick!!

Tomorrow, I have to figure out how to run in the morning as I have plans in the evening in which I won’t be home until later. I have been doing all my runs during the evening for quite some time now and shifting to the morning didn’t work when I tried to get out of bed today.  Here’s to hoping my legs are happy in the morning and I’m not a big lazy bones.

Happy Running!

rundmach

 

Categories: Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.