Juneathon Day 9 – Cobra

Hello,

Time to keep it short and sweet. Long day, late night, so I shall log my Juneathon Day 9 activities and not get into details. 15 minute dynamic yoga from the NTC program (just because it says yoga, it’s not easy!) and 15 minute shaped back workout from NTC. Both extremely hard and sweaty but happy to put in my 30 minute exercise for the day.

Today’s exercise, although I’m not a fan of yoga (probably because I’m no good at it), will be yoga related. This pose is a nice stretch I like doing even if it wasn’t in my yoga program.

Here’s how to Cobra:
20140609-232120-84080799.jpg
1. Lie down on your stomach with your hands under your shoulders and bows hugging your ribs
2. Point your toes down and push down into your feet. Roll your head, shoulders, and chest away from the ground. Engage your quads but keep your butt relaxed.
3. Draw your shoulder blades down the back and squeeze the muscles down your back as your lower back down the ground.
These are the instructions from Nike with their images. I’m not even sure how you squeeze back muscles… I think you inhale as you come up and exhale as you relax back down… Anyways, here are a list of benefits I found online for this pose: Stretches muscles in the shoulders, chest and abdominals, Decreases stiffness of the lower back, Strengthens the arms and shoulders, Increases flexibility, Relieves stress and fatigue, Opens the chest and helps to clear the passages of the heart and lungs, Strengthens the spine, and Helps to ease symptoms of asthma.

Happy Cobra!

rundmach

Categories: Juneathon | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 9 – Cobra

  1. Tiffany

    the cobra is probably one of my least fave yoga poses haha I don’t know why but it kills me every time during sun salutations. that and downward dog…haha

    • Don’t worry Tiff, the Cobra is nice to you./ It’s the upward dog that’s a killer! Keep at it!

  2. How can you hate yoga!? ;). Just kidding. I love yoga, but totally understand those who don’t. And yes, you are SPOT ON with the inhale/exhale pattern and how it allows you to squeeze your upper back. Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

