Janathon Day 31

Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later. – Og Mandino

January 31 Run: 1:30:00 (hh:mm:ss), 11.80 km, 7’39″/km (iPod)
Janathon Day 31

Today was my longest run to date in both distance and duration. I was only 200 metres away from 12 km!! I did this all on the treadmill and had I known I was that far off I would have done the extra 200, I had it in me!! Actually, I was aiming for 11 km because my Running Free was telling me I was 10.9 kms away from hitting 100 kms this month! I joked yesterday and earlier today that I should do 11 kms just so I could hit 100 for the month. I didn’t want to wait until next Janathon or do it next month when it’s 3 days less! I got down to my treadmill and set it to 90 minutes, that should give me plenty of time to complete 11 k and if my body couldn’t that’s okay too. I also set it to 90 minutes so I would beat my longest run time on my Nike+ from last year (1 hours 26 minutes and I think it was 10.6 km). It was time to set a new record for the new year! Well I was in quite some excitement even knowing I only missed 200 metres from 12 k… I plugged my gadgets into the computer and uploaded… Oh no, Nike+ says I’m 900 m away from 100 km for the month, what the frig?! Ok ok.. calm down, Nike+ doesn’t always seem to add up well… Where’s my notebook, let me manually add these up… Oh no, I’m still short!… Okay, let me type this up on a calculator and add it up… Oh no, now I’m short 1.2 kms… What’s going on?! Back to the Running Free site to review the analysis…. My Wednesday January 29th run, was submitted twice!!! How could I?!?!?! 2.76 kms extra added in that were not earned… It is still early in the day and if I’m not fully broken, I will get on the treadmill again to do 2 kms so I can claim my 100 km month!!!

running inspiration risk and go far

Janathon janathon-participant-logo Day 31 has been completed (even if I’m not fully done). I got in my planks (check out Janathon PJ Off-Side-Plank here!) plus my regular mini strength work outs along with a long run. The run was 9 minutes on (5 mph) and 1 minute off (4 mph) for 90 minutes. Could it really be over already? This community has been so touching, inspirational, and supportive, I don’t want it to ever end! I even signed up for twitter (@rundmach) just for Janathon and I’m not even sure if I’m using it right! I don’t want this to stop so I’m just going to keep working out every day and keep blogging as much as I can. I don’t know if I will commit to blogging every day but I will commit to being active. Besides, I’m at 32 days of running now, let’s see how far I can go!

This month has taught me so much. I have followed the lives of so many alike and so many I adore. I have gone from strength to strength. I have thought about fellow Janathoners in my regular day and wishing them well. I am extremely thankful for each and every one of you who follow my blog, who has been active, who inspire me, who like my posts, and who is there for me. I am touched and sad this is over. I am no longer just an I. We have been through so much this month and I couldn’t be happier to have been part of this journey. We have put in all of our time to complete all 31 days and as the site says, we are all winners, and we should all be proud:

What do I win?
You win smugness and immense self-satisfaction.

We have succeeded!! Ran every day this month and was active! So, this is not the end. This is really just the beginning and I’m sure many other blogs I read today will be of the same esteem. We are all superstars!!  I can go on about how grateful I am for this month and how YOU have helped me get to where I am today. I won’t ramble on but know that each of you mean sometime special to me and I’m very happy that I get to share my life with you. I’d also like to send me gratitude and Thank you’s out to Cathy @ JogBlog and everyone else who is involved with organizing and keeping this alive!!!

For now, I need to go shower and get on with my day. Don’t be surprised if you see another blog today covering another km that I need so I can hit 100 km for the month.

Sincerely,

rundmach

Categories: achievements, Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Janathon Day 31

  1. Sam

    Well done on a successful Janathon!

  2. It has been fun hasn’t it? Good luck with your run streak and your 2 kms before midnight!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

