Janathon Day 25

I will define my own bruises! I will define my own success! 

January 25 Run: 45:00 (mm:ss), 5.83 km, 7’44″/km (iPod)
Janathon day 25

Boy, if my treadmill could do the things I thought paying $800 for a machine would do, I would have completed 6 km. I know I complain about the treadmill a lot but I really wish I could just add 5 minutes to a current session without having to wait for it shut down, restart, and reselect all my run settings. I actually had set out to complete 5 km, so I set the treadmill to 45 minutes giving myself a good little buffer if I decided to run “slow”. My run felt pretty great! I steadily increased my pace from 4.8 up to 5.5 mph throughout the run. At each 8 minute interval, I had a 1 minute walk at 3.9 mph.

What drove me to running up to 5.5 mph? Well, You’ll have to thank motivational speeches as cliché as they are, they work! I was skimming through some online radio workout stations while running and I hit skip a LOT even on my own playlists. I came across this in a station: BEST Workout Motivation (warning, 9 minutes long and you will want to be a beast after this!). It wasn’t anything I haven’t heard before but I think around the 5 minute mark, the “WHO AM I?! I AM A CHAMPION” got me really really pumped up and that’s when I went from 4.9 to 5 to 5.1 to 5.3 in 1 interval. Nearing the end, with I think 4 minutes left, I looked at the actual distance and realized how close I could be to 6 km. I knew I wouldn’t hit it with my pace (I even knew 5.5 wouldn’t get me there), but I had to up the speed and get as close as I can in the 45 minutes I had set. I’m not heartbroken over not hitting 6 because that wasn’t what was going to define my successful run today, 5 k was the goal and I have achieved it. This doesn’t mean I’m settling for less either.

After the run, I continued with some more of my strength training exercises. The nice kind of sore happens almost every morning in my upper back / shoulder blades. I’m working on bringing sexy back! Haha.

MOTIVATIONAL INSPIRATION SUCCESS I AM A CHAMPION

So, here we are, the last week of  Janathon janathon-participant-logo, with Day 25 completed early in the day. Yes, I went for my run before noon today! I have a family dinner tonight and well that will go late and include a lot of food. I did some cleaning and organizing in my basement. Prepped some of my fruits into snack sized containers. I also woke up at 7 am and didn’t get back to bed so I’ve had a pretty productive day so far! With only 6 more days of Janathon being the “reason” why I’m running, I have already been running for me but I like having Janathon be the excuse; plus it just seems easier to let myself down than an entire community! However, I am working at changing that mentality and working on focussing on me! 😀

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Janathon Day 25

  1. Great job today for your workout!!

    My post today was similar – I doubt I would have worked out every day if it wasn’t for Janathon. I wonder how many people from the group would be willing to continue thru February??

    • Thanks Kim!
      I loved your post today because it’s true. I may not have always given 110% effort but I gave some effort that I would not have done if it weren’t for Janathon. I would commit with you to continue strong through February, it’s okay 28 days this year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

