Janathon Day 23

Dear me, one day I’ll make you proud. – Charlotte Eriksson

January 23 Run: 20:00 (mm:ss), 2.59 km, 7’49″/km (iPod)
janathon day 23

Today’s run was just a little scary. After yesterday’s run, my treadmill notified me I had to lube up the belt before I could run again. Well, I forgot this until it was 9 PM and I was all laced up and ready to go. I decided to bypass the notification and go for a more focussed 20 minute run. Why focused and why scared? A while back I was running on my mom’s treadmill (Frustrated Disappointment – woah July 2012!), I broke it! I broke my mom’s treadmill because she only used it for walking but when I visited her, I would run on it. After trying to figure out what was wrong, we were told that the treadmill burned out because she never greased it up and my running caused it to overheat and die. So, the run had to be focused just to be prepared if the treadmill decided to just shut off on me and scared because it’s scary when a treadmill just stops in mid-step. I am a little frustrated with reading my post from 2012 seeing that I was running at a 6 minute km pace and right now, I struggle to get a 7:30…. Add 2 minutes to the time I ran today, in 2012 I covered almost an entire km more… that’s so sad… OH but wait, my notes say that I was running at a 4.5 – 5 mph pace on the treadmill, that’s what I’m running now?! I wish I had taken note of what the treadmill read instead of my iPod. This must have been before I realized that my iPod had never calibrated the right distance or pace and is all hooey!!!

I completed my  Janathon janathon-participant-logo day 23 run which is my 24th day run streak! I’ve also been keeping up with my strength exercises after the run too!! I find it a lot easier to get these done when my heart is pumping after a run. I know I may not be running at what other runners are in terms of pace and distance, but hey, I’m still doing something that the old me would not have! I can’t believe I’ve gotten off my butt every day for 24 days and completed a physical activity outside of my regular routine of work, eat, sleep, repeat. It’s pretty awesome that right now I can say my regular routine is eat, sleep, work, run. Oh and showering is important now too I guess! Haha!

run yourself proud running

Happy Running!!!

rundmach

Categories: Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

