Janathon Day 13

Change doesn’t come unless you push yourself. 

January 13 Run: 18:00 (mm:ss), 2.20 km, 8’15″/km (iPod)
janathon day 13

What’s new? I’m still feeling sick. Went to work, didn’t feel nearly as bad as I have the last few days, made it through, and got home in one piece. Feeling a lot more nauseous tonight and a lot more coughing tonight than during the entire day. Sick of being a lazy butt and doing 1 km, I put myself on the treadmill for 18 minutes – whatever distance this would have equated to would be it. I put the speed up just one notch higher than the last 2 days since I really wanted to push myself out of this self-pity of sickness. In the end I completed a bit more than 2 k at a pace a little quicker than the last 2 days. No where near back to normal – my chest was killing me and a few cough attacks during the running proved quite challenging. Janathon janathon-participant-logo Day 13 Completed.

push yourself motivation

I’d like to get back to my normal self and run outside again. Now, I am a little hesitant to get back outside; worried I will over/under-dress, slip on all the ice, waste too much time getting dressed (since the treadmill is easy to get ready for), not have water with me, etc. The motivation to get outside is not back and I’m worried I may lose momentum… Help?…

By the way, have I ever mentioned how much I appreciate YOU? The reader, yes, you! Thank you for your likes, for your comments, and for your support! You’re making me feel a lot better and helping me stay accountable to being active every day during this time where I only want to curl up in bed. Not only do I get on the treadmill – when I’m done my stretches, I do some other exercises. I would not be doing any of this without you, THANK YOU!!

Happy Running.

rundmach

Categories: Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Janathon Day 13

  1. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Take a hot bath in Epsom salts. Don’t push yourself to get back to running outside too soon – you don’t need this thing to settle in your chest. You’re doing great.

    • Thanks Kim!! I have taken two Epsom salt baths so far and they feel great! Plus they help get rid of the chills in my bones. 🙂

  3. Running and coughing? Multi-tasking at its finest

  4. Hope you’re feeling better soon. Have to say I love your posts and the things you include in them, I find them really motivational 🙂

    • That means a great deal to me Jen! Thank you! 🙂
      I’m enjoying keeping up with your blog and Janathon updates too!

  5. Just like everyone else, I hope you feel better soon! I’d probably take it easy with the outdoor running and stick to the treadmill until you’re feeling better…but as soon as that cough goes away get your butt outside! 😉

    For being over or under-dressed, I’d wear maybe a long-sleeve shirt with a layer over top that can easily be removed and tied around the waist. Do a practice run the night before with getting dressed and lay everything out so the next day you’re all set to go!

    And the ice….well yes you could slip. But the treadmill could also spontaneously explode as well. You know deep down you want this…you won’t lose the momentum! 😀

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

