Janathon Day 3

The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity. – Emelia Earhart

January 3 Run: 16:08 (mm:ss), 2.32 KM, 6’55″/km (iPod Nano records)

JANATHON DAY 3I had revelation today while running! I warn you, this paragraph is a little boring about stats so if you skip to the next paragraph, I won’t blame you! I couldn’t figure out why the image to the right (my treadmill) has been so different from my Nike+ Sportswatch. Better yet, I have been beating myself up about how much slower I am now than I was earlier last year while running on the same treadmill.  I was using my iPod Nano over the new watch I have!!! The Nano is off to the real distance outside when tracked with a map, but after confiding in runrchatts, I should trust in the treadmill stats. So, here we are. Treadmill reads 1.45 miles (2.32 km while my watch read 1.84 km). It’s not that I’m being lazy, it’s just because I can tell I am pushing myself way way way harder on the treadmill than I ever am outside. On the treadmill tonight I ran at 5.5 miles per hour or 11 minute mile pace; that’s equivalent to 6’50″/km when my average pace should be around 7″45″/km. Going forward, my treadmill runs will be loaded with my iPod nano instead of my watch (the iPod nano has the ability to be calibrated – this means I can adjust to the distance I see on the treadmill).

After discovering the discrepancy, I am super excited to know that I am not all that slow compared to where I was early last year. It is not about being better than someone else, but it’s about being better than I was yesterday and if I am digressing, then it’s a little demotivating. Today, I have discovered I may not be all that slow – it’s just the treadmill and the devices. Maybe I should take my own advice and JUST RUN!

Now that the extreme wind-chill and cold weather alerts are off, I’m excited to get outside and run this weekend!!!

Janathon Day 3 now complete! Woohoo!!! I hope you’ve been training, running, working out, being active and logging it in! It’s worth it!! At least for me it is. Thanks for your likes and supports! Thanks for sharing your journey with the world and me! Thank you fellow bloggers, runners, and Janathoners!

Don’t look at your watch or think too much, just lace up and run!

run

Happy Running

rundmach

janathon-participant-logo
http://www.janathon.com

Categories: Janathon | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Janathon Day 3

  1. I stopped by from Janathon to read your post and say hi. I’d be happy with that pace – I’m much slower and just thrilled to be running. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

