Listen to the Crunch

There are two primary choices in life: to accept conditions as they exist, or accept the responsibility for changing them. – Denis Waitley

Before getting into the details of today’s run, I’d like to extend my appreciation to all of you who send me your support, likes, and comments. Thank you Christine, runrchattsJane Likes to Run, and sophiesara for your support after my last post – I needed it and you definitely made me feel a whole lot better after hearing from you. This blog community, the running family, the togetherness, I love it and I cherish your for being a part of this.

December 9 Run: 40:10 (mm:ss), 5.32 km, 7’33″/km

run inspirationTonight was a steady run and I felt much more than steady. The sidewalks were very icy and wind was testing how grounded I could keep myself haha. It was -1°C feels like -9°C with winds jumping up to 26kmh from time to time. I had a fantastic run. I was careful, so careful that in my 20 minute walk after, I slipped more during my walk than I did during my run. I felt unstoppable and felt as if I was running very hard in the 6’s and low 7’s. I guess I wasn’t that fast since my overall is still 7’33″/km but that’s okay. I gave it my all tonight and am very proud of myself. I dressed well for the weather and was probably a little too warm.

For those of you who have been looking, I stumbled across a pair of winter pants that are amazing!! They happen to be cycling pants that were misplaced so I snagged them and tried them on, they’re amazing! Minus the fact that the different stitching and swatches of fabric bugged me a little bit (since the pants aren’t seamless), they kept my legs nice and warm!! What are these wonderful pants? They are from Mountain Equipment Co-Op and they have them in Mens and Ladies (don’t worry they don’t have the butt padding even though they’re cycling pants). I only decided to check out MEC since a running friend suggested their private label (MEC) items are more affordable than buying the Nike, Adidas, Saucony, etc. that I’ve been checking out. Check them out here for $75 in the ladies. Free advertising for MEC! Better than the $100+ on the bigger brands even though I do like Nike. Yes, I still can’t believe I spent $75 on a pair of tights either but they are so worth it now!!! I don’t even spend that much on jeans, haha.

My favourite thing about tonight’s run, hearing the snow and ice crunch beneath me. Every step I just felt super awesome! I love the winter and I love the snow, today was no different. I had a tough day at work spending the first 3 hours of my day fixing up errors and touching up all these issues that had nothing to do with my actual Monday tasks that I felt a little overwhelmed due to other people’s negligence. After a stressful day all I wanted to do was curl up on the couch but what I really wanted to do was run, so I decided I’d run to my plan and not skip it just because I had a lousy day at work.

Here’s to running  Happy!!
run inspiration be happy

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Listen to the Crunch

  1. That sounds like an awesome run!! You totally should be proud 🙂

    I am always in disbelief at the amount I spend on exercise clothes myself. My most expensive pair of heels doesn’t even come close to the cost of my Sauconys. hahah

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

