Santa 5K Recap

Luck is a dividend of sweat. The more you sweat, the luckier you get. – Ray Kroc

December 7 Run: 37:41 (mm:ss), 5.03 km, 7’29″/km

5k time on my watch was 37:31. The official chip time isn’t up yet; I didn’t even know it was a chipped run until I picked up my race kit. Check it out. The kit is pretty sweet. $40 and you get a full Santa suit, beards are mandatory during race time too!

20131207-130929.jpg

I’m sure you probably want to see what it looks like on so I will save the photo at the end. πŸ˜€
The run was still tough for me, too cold (-4Β°C feels like -8 with some crazy with that really hurt your hands), then too hot with the beard, hat, and ensemble. My chest really hurt the whole time; guess my inhaler didn’t help as I started a new one today…. It was however snowing a little bit on and off during the run, those moments made me smile. I did feel like I was struggling and not enjoying the run as much as I had liked to and been expecting…. Maybe my hopes were too high and my mind was preoccupied.

After the race. I grabbed a water with runrchatts who joined me for this run and tried to pace me… We didn’t hang around for the free pizza, line was just too long. During the majority of the run, I felt awful seeing him in front of me, it looked like he was walking with a hop because he had to try so hard to go so slow at a “run” pace and I was still falling behind… I still really appreciate the support and sort of company, haha. Thanks for trying to run with me and being there!

I was really hoping this run would get me more into Christmas… I haven’t been feeling well health wise and been a little stressed with work… My tree isn’t up yet and the house has 0 signs that Christmas is even on its way! Seeing all the Santas and hearing the Christmas music did help but now I’m home feeling blue again…

This was supposed to be a fun run but now I’m really bummed out with how horrible I feel for being so slow. I came to terms with my speed but then races like this make me realize just how slow I am. Why does everyone ask about how fast how fast? Couldn’t it be enough that I got out there and was active? Maybe I’m not cut out to be a runner either! Anyways, enough with being negative nancy, here’s a fun photo of me before the race…

20131207-132019.jpg

Shaking my belly like a bowl full of jelly – ho ho ho.

Hope you’re having a happier day than I am.

rundmach

Categories: achievements, blog | Tags: , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Santa 5K Recap

  1. Jane Likes to Run

    I wouldn’t be too hard on yourself. It always adds another layer of difficulty once it gets cold. It’s great that you got out to do something like this. All the Santa’s are awesome. I would not be too thrilled about wearing that suit and beard either. Racing in costume is also not easy.

  2. Don’t be blue. Feel good that you were out there! Most people were probably at home lounging in front of the TV with a plate of holiday goodies to nibble on. You are a runner! Believe that. Times don’t matter in the big picture if life! And neither do all of the other details others judge us by. Feel confident in the fact that you stepped up…you ran. You look darn cute in that Santa suit…spreading JOY in such a jolly way!

    • You’re amazing!! This comment stuck with me especially during tonight’s cold windy run. I kept thinking of your support and the “Darn right I did look cute!” haha. Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. “Success is self-defined” is one of my favourite sayings. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far you ran. The important thing is that you ran. Now get your decorations hung and the mulled wine simmering and have a great Christmas!

    • Thanks Bernie!!!! πŸ™‚
      I put up my tree and just have to decorate it now. I plan on taking a Christmas Day off soon so I can spend the whole day hanging garland and spreading some holiday cheer around my house. Haha.
      I hope you have a wonderful Christmas as well!

  4. It definitely is enough that you just got out there and did it!! It’s a lot more than most people can say, especially getting out in the cold in a Santa suit!! πŸ˜‰ Nothing makes a person a runner other than the desire to be one; it doesn’t matter how fast or slow you go!

    • Thank you!!! I think the problem is feeling judged by other runners who are more intense than I am or “better” than I am, makes me feel a little like I’m out of place. It’s okay though, most of the time I run alone πŸ™‚

      • I totally understand the feeling. But the way I look at it is that with running there’s such a huge “community” aspect to it. So many people are out there cheering one another on regardless of what level they’re at. I feel like the only thing that makes one “not a runner” is lacking that community feeling and judging someone based on their experience and capabilities! So if someone does judge you, feel sorry for them πŸ™‚

      • πŸ˜€ that is wonderfully put. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

