The Dreadmill

If a run doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you.

December 4 Run: 20:03 (mm:ss), 2.48 km, 8’04″/km

20131204-212730.jpgThis treadmill run was actually set for 20 minutes at a 4.9 mph or 7’34” pace (total distance , 1.71 miles). It didn’t change but somehow my watch tells me different stats in terms of pace and distance. Oh how I hate the treadmill! I ran the treadmill because it was a tempo run today according to the plan. I really wanted to make sure I kept that tempo pace so I did the run on the treadmill. Thank goodness tomorrow’s run is a 40 minute steady run, aka outside run!! Yes, back to back runs because I skipped Tuesday’s run for a good reason: I got the opportunity to go to a Leafs game, how could I say no?! Well besides the fact that the Leafs only showed up for the second period, I still had a blast but a very late night.

Tonight I decided to review my treadmill run log from earlier this year just to figure how I was able to run 77 minutes (a little over 10k) straight in April on the treadmill?! I don’t even enjoy 20 minutes on it right now. I guess it doesn’t really matter; I now have almost all the gear I need to be running outdoors all winter long! Treadmill will only be for those specific pace/speed/interval runs on the plan until I learn to regulate my pace outdoors.

I hope you’ve been having a good week yourself!

Happy Running.

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “The Dreadmill

  1. Props to you!! I used to love treadmill running, but now I just have to force myself to get mentally through it.

    • Thanks! It’s true. There is so much more going through my head during treadmill runs, I can’t just get lost in the run like we would outside.

  2. Christine

    The title of your post made me lol!

  3. I am leaving the treadmill behind, as I wind down the remaining weeks until my marathon, because the last time I tried to do a pace workout, I thought my kneecap was going to pop right off 😦 It seems my body much prefers the natural ability to alter pace and adjust impact that only comes with running outside; the unforgiving surface and restricted space of the belt are unkind to my joints.
    I have turned to trail running as a means to improve my speed, because where I run the constant variety of terrain and the up-and-down makes every run into a fartlek; then, when back on paved level ground the same perceived effort produces much faster running…and isn’t that the point?
    It’s true that maintaining a particular pace is difficult on your own, but I am learning to find joy in the run itself, and maybe not worry so much about the clock. If I’m having fun, I will run harder and longer, and that by itself will take care of the rest!

    • It’s true, my knees hurt too lately. I’m finding it hard to do squats as my knees feel like they’re going to pop. Is this from the treadmill??? I would have never thought.
      It’s awesome you’re doing trail running. I’d really love to give it a shot sometime.
      Good luck on your tapering!

      • “Tapering”? I’m doing it backwards I guess, more miles this week than last, and even more next week. I’ll back off right after new years, since my races are the 18th and 19th.
        I can’t be 100% sure that the treadmill is the cause of my knee pain, but it got worse when I ran on it, and got better when I quit using it, so that’s what I’m going with.
        The trails are really fun…I turn off my music and my expectations, and just get lost in the run. The pace is slower because you have to be careful, but the effort is the same or greater – every run becomes a fartlek and your body learns to adapt. I hope you get a chance to try it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

