Five Extra Years?

We are designed to move. Give your kids back 5 years. 

December 1 Run: 40:32 (mm:ss), 5.12 km, 7’54″/km

Today I got to run outside, how wonderful! The weather called for rain/snow forecast so I got up early to run before it hit – so early I didn’t even know what I was doing. The run felt a little more tough than usual. I was tired so I wasn’t sure what I was doing. This could have been because I didn’t take a rest day at all this week – I did cross/strength training on all of my days off of running (a minimum of 30 min cycling + exercises). However, my overall pace was still pretty decent so no disappointment here on that side. I did notice my chest hurting a bit again the last 10 minutes of my run, it may be time to get a refill on my puffer. Good to know it is helping!! 🙂

I’d like to take a moment of your time as you read this and strongly recommend you watch this video (less than 2 minutes). This is one ad that every person in this world needs to watch. At least every North American does, based on our “health” statistics. If you haven’t had seen this video by Designed to Move – a campaign by Nike but not advertised as Nike, so please watch it.

This video speaks volumes to me and I am just shocked that it came out in 2012 and I just discovered it. One of the reasons I run that I haven’t shared is for my kids. I don’t have children right now but I think about the family I want and in 10 or 20 years when I am out with my wonderful husband and happy children, I want to be able to play with them and be a good example of someone who is healthy and active. This video scares me as if I don’t make better life choices now to create healthier habits, I will pass these bad/lazy habits onto my children. When I retire, I want to be able to snowboard, run, and golf every day! Please share this video and continue to blog about how you are being a healthier you. All of your blogs – especially the moms out there, who are balancing work, family, and running, you’re my inspiration. I hope you continue to inspire others as well. Thank you!

Please click on the image to see a full infographic from Designed to Move. This is very educational and provides some insightful information.

Please click on the image to see a full infographic from Designed to Move. This is very educational and provides some insightful information.

What would you do with 5 extra years? 

Here’s to a healthier future for us and our children!

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Five Extra Years?

  1. I can’t believe how powerful that video is. As a school based Occupational Therapist, I noticed that they shot a lot of that video on the playground and in the school yard – a place where less time is spent these days. I know that we are always talking about the importance of the movement-learning connection and to see this is so sad. Thank you for posting this and raising awareness. I’m going to pass this along for sure!

    • Thank you for watching it mama! Have you seen the Canadian Tire bring back play campaign in Canada? That one was my favorite until seeing this one. This is done by Nike but they don’t advertise it is by Nike or put any product placement, kudos to them!

      Thanks again for checking this out and sharing!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

