Run for Doughnuts

If you’re tired of starting over, stop giving up.

November 29 Run: 25:10 (mm:ss), 3.18 km, 7’54″/km

Today was a speed training run, aka treadmill run. 5 minute warm up, 10 minute fast (5.6 mph), 5 minute walk, 10 minute fast run (5.6 mph), and a 3 minute cool down walk. I only tracked my actual run duration plus the one walk interval in between. Very very very tough run again. My chest hurt and my arms were grasping on the treadmill every moment I let them. On the plus side, I did run both 10 minute intervals straight at 5.6 mph.

20131129-213354.jpg

This is how I felt.

Nonetheless, I am happy to have run this Friday evening. A coworker brought in doughnuts today, how could I say no?! I’m the one with the sweet tooth. I kindly said thank you but no thank you…. Then caved after a few jokes and indulged in a 320 calorie doughnut! I know life isn’t about counting calories but being aware of what I am injecting into my body and limiting it to what I need vs want is important since I’d like to lose some weight. I’m clearly not going to lose weight by giving in so easy. Sometimes though, you have to give in and indulge yourself, every now and then. So what’s the big deal that I had a snack that consumes more than my daily sugar intake and is equivalent to the calorie level of my regular lunches? It’s a big deal. I felt guilty the moment I took a bite! I enjoy my fruits so much, that’s all the sugar I need! I could have had my orange instead, which I did later on… I think my eyes and taste buds wanted the doughnut more than I actually did because I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. Here’s to saying NO next time and no guilty feelings!

I’m excited my next run is a steady run, this means outside!!! Yay!

Here’s to giving into those craving you truly want every now and again, here’s to saying no to those we don’t really want but think we do. Be strong!

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Run for Doughnuts

  1. You’re definitely right…we do need to give in every now and then! I almost like those moments where I feel guilty immediately after…they just act as a reminder for next time! Great message ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your run!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

