Run Calm, Run Happy

Keep Calm and Stride On. 

November 27 Run: 40:05 (mm:ss), 5.08 km, 7’53″/km

run inspiration cold winter

Today’s run was a steady run which means outside running!! Yay!!  I should have been a little faster but I chose to run outside since it wasn’t a speed/interval run. Yes, I chose to run in -5°C weather (feels like -11°C). I didn’t care too much for pace, (I barely looked at my watch), as long as I achieved the run goal of 40 minutes at a steady pace I would be happy. My heart rate monitor says I exerted a steady flow of effort (even though my pace jumped around a bit) which is good because I did slow down a bit going uphill against wind at a few legs of my run. I am very happy with today’s run except for making the wrong turn. I made an early right turn and missed an entire section I had mapped out prior to my run so I had to make a loop back around to complete the time. Besides being a little frustrated with not knowing where I was going in the dark, I had a wrist light and was just happy to be out. I stayed calm and just continued to run until I hit a major street. A calm run meant a very peaceful and happy run. I am so glad I chose to go outside – I hope you do too.

My legs were cold!! Burr!! I couldn’t feel my toes until 15 minutes into the run – they were tingly and numb but I didn’t mind. I dressed well upper body, just need some better running tights. Any recommendations for below 0?
I love the winter! Running over snow and treading carefully over ice patches made me feel like a champion!

I hope you’re enjoying the crisp weather as much as I am! White hot chocolates, scarves, toques, mitts, snow, and now running!!! 😀

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Run Calm, Run Happy

  1. If you get any good sugestions, pass them on – I own one pair of tights, and they are only good down to 40 degrees (4, to you metricians 🙂 ) and tomorrow morning I’m doing 10K in 30 degrees!

    • Oh boy. Good luck! Glad you’re running again 🙂
      I will pass any info on. I’m contemplating wearing two pairs of tights. It’s only me thighs that were cold. I wore snowboarding sock under my tights so my calves were warm, haha. Maybe I’ll double up on socks for my toes too!
      Does Texas even get any colder?

      • We have our moments… two years ago I was on a jobsite, no walls up, roof barely finished,hanging duct in 20 degrees with 20 mph winds from the North. We had to stop every thirty minutes to go warm up because it got hard to think!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

