New Gadget, New Run

Too many cooks in the kitchen spoils the broth. 

Today I didn’t run outside not only because I was a chicken of how cold it is when it’s pitch black outside, but because I had a speed training session to complete. I’ve been told that once the temperature drops, it’s not ideal to be doing speed training (rapid bursts of high intense running with low intensity cool down periods). I guess the body just doesn’t enjoy warming up and cooling down repeatedly when the temperatures are below 0. Oh and I got a new toy I wanted to test out today while being indoors, a heart rate monitor to go with my Nike+ GPS Sportwatch.

November 25 Run: 30:05 (mm:ss), 3.69 km, 8’09″/km

Running inspiration do what you thinkThis run is a 3 minute speed pace run (6’38″/km or 5.6 mph) and 3 minute low intensity pace (ranged from 3.5 to 4.4 mph) repeated 5 times. My low intensity should have been around an 8’20″/km (4.4 mph) but most of my low intensity intervals were at a brisk walk pace around 10:30″/km (3.5 mph). No biggie. I am just happy I was able to hit the speed intervals for the full 3 minutes each time at the right pace I needed to on a treadmill! This is my first time really doing a run like this (following a specific speed training pace within a regular run plan). I’ve done interval running but nothing to push myself to the max each interval. The treadmill is very tough; maybe because the image in front of my treadmill makes me dizzy, maybe it’s the visibility of all the numbers and counting down the work out instead of getting lost with nature, or maybe I’m just  a big wimp.

I am feeling a little overwhelmed, reading too much about running, getting too many conflicting ideas/work out plans, and just so much to process and decipher, it’s information overload! Don’t get me wrong, EVERY LITTLE BIT OF INFORMATION HELPS!!! I really enjoy reading your blogs and your opinions. It’s more reading articles and speaking to other runners where I don’t quite feel like I belong. I just haven’t grasped everything everyone is always talking about. I feel I’m still struggling too much for how much time and effort I have put in. In no means am I asking you to stop commenting or sending me messages!! PLEASE KEEP PROVIDING ME HELP!!! Every piece of information is important. I treat each item like gospel and that could be my issue – trying to achieve everything because there’s so much good out there!

Any-who, if you have a good suggestion on figuring out your ideal Heart Rate while running or a site you can send me to, that’d be just fantastic! I’ve found a few online but was just wondering what should be my real guide? What do you use?

Hope you’re off to a good start to the week.

Happy Running!

rundmach

P.S. Yesterday, I was a little bummed out all morning; in a bit of a funk you’d say. Why? Because my plan didn’t call for running yesterday!! What’s up with that? No run on a Sunday? Well I fixed that up with some cross-training later in the day to make up for it (cycled and did various mini workouts).

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

