It’s So Fluffy!!!

If you wait for the perfect weather conditions, you’ll never get anything done.

Today marked the first real snowfall where I live. What better way to celebrate than to go outside for a run?

November 23 Run: 30 min steady, 3.94 km, 7’38″/km

running inspiration badassIf you’re new to my blog, or may have forgotten from last year, I LOVE SNOW! I love to snowboard and I love the winter season. I have not been able to mix my love for winter with my love for running but today I did this. Today, I had one of my happiest runs I have had in a very long time. My 30 minute run at a steady pace was at just about the right speed I had to be (none of this treadmill nonsense). There was half a km uphill against 32 km/hr winds where I slowed down to about 8’40″/km but come on, Uphill and Against the wind, I didn’t care as long as I was still moving. I felt pretty awesome running against that wind and in snowfall (which didn’t last the entire run; it was on off snow). Near the end of my run, the snow really started falling hard and I couldn’t help but have the biggest grin on my face as I was finishing my last 4 minutes. I swear, there was a lady walking by me with her groceries in one hand and other hanging onto her hood to keep from blowing away, stared me down and thought I was crazy for being so happy running in the snowfall.

Breathing was awesome during this run too. I didn’t struggle finding my breath, my chest didn’t hurt, I loved absolutely every minute of my run. It was 0°C (felt like -6°C). I was worried I’d be under dressed but my top was probably a little too heavy as I was pretty sweaty but now I know better. I am so excited to run more in the cooler weather!!!! I do wish I had more chanced to run in day light other than on weekends but I am content with this.

I’d also like to welcome back fellow blogger runrchatts who came out to run 30 minutes with me today! His run plan required him to run 4 km steady, so we both started at the same time and I took an earlier turn for a shorter loop and he went on. After about 25 minutes he caught up to me, not very shocked but very happy 🙂 I met him at the end where he finished his 4 km and I finished my 30 minutes.

I wish I had been able to capture the beauty of the snowfall while I was out but I don’t run with my phone so no pretty pictures. I hope you got to enjoy your day today and get to embrace the winter!

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “It’s So Fluffy!!!

  1. Great pace today, you were right that the treadmill holds you back. Don’t know if I would be smiling with temps at freezing, but I’m smiling as I read this!

    • Thanks Nick!!!! How’s the resting going? I don’t think Texas gets too much cold weather as much as Canadians do, lol. I’m sure you’d be smiling. Every run is worth a smile, at the very least a smirk. 🙂

      • Resting has done me well, but that’s about all I can stand of it! Went out for a 6-mile trail run in the mud with a new group I joined, it was AWESOME! 43 degrees (6 C) and very muddy from y’day’s rain – I was the only one who didn’t fall, still a mud virgin I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

