Run My Feelings Out

Hey there,

Today was a very long day at work! There’s a lot going on with my work life that I can’t really share online, so just know that I wish I could vent but need to be professional. I am very conflicted by a lot of my thoughts and passion with my work life right now… In hopes of relieving stress, I went to run tonight after getting home, I was so frustrated and angry, there was nothing else I wanted more than a good run. (Also one of my poor fishes died this morning before I went to work. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )

20131015-204413.jpgOctober 15 Run: 36:49 (mm:ss), 5.02 km, 7’20″/km

I did indeed have a really good run! I could have go a few more KMs I feel but it was getting quite dark (aka scary) outside. I really needed the therapy but it was very challenging; I kept straying back to work thoughts and getting upset. Eventually, the last KM was when I finally let go and just pushed myself to run, finishing the last KM in 6 minutes and 34 seconds!! It really is true, when I push myself, I can run a lot faster! I did however run in intervals today: 8 minutes on, 1 minute off for the first 27 minutes then did a straight run to finish 5k.

Is it true then? Running intervals is the way to go and get faster? How do other runners just run and never stop but keep increasing pace? I need to do some more research!

It was tough not running over the weekend either! Last week I hurt my feet from work and had to spend most of Saturday in bed (couldn’t be on my feet at all); I won’t get you too caught up in it, I’m better now and that’s all that matters.

Bad days can make greats runs! ๐Ÿ™‚

Stay Positive, Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Run My Feelings Out

  1. Nice run today! Living in the States, I always have to stop and do math to translate…Jimmy Carter had a nice idea, but one of the hallmarks of being from the US is to be contrary to everything and anyone ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for speed training and intervals, they are they way to go. I have begun modifying my 5-mile pace workouts (which are done on the treadmill to give more precise control) I start slightly below my target pace, and every mile increase the speed by 15-30 seconds per mile; I do this for 3-7 miles, topping out at around 7:30-7:45 pace for the last 1-2 miles (that will leave you breathing hard, I promise!)

    This accomplishes 2 things: it helps me achieve and sustain faster paces than I would normally run; and it “trains” my body to work hard while fatigued. I think both of these will help a lot during my marathon. Maybe an adapted version of this would work for you? Let me know what you think…and thanks for stopping by my blog today, I always smile when I see your likes and comments!

    • Oooo I can’t wait to try that on the treadmill. It’s currently sitting in pieces in my basement and garage. I haven’t put it back together since my move. Lol. I don’t recommend anyone buying a treadmill who plans to move.
      I’ll be trying that when I do put it together and run indoors during some runs this winter. You’re right it is a lot easier to pace and regulate and increase when on a treadmill. I’ll have to see how it goes for me if I ever get some muscles in my house to help me move the treadmill downstairs. Haha.
      And don’t worry about conversion, apparently everything is in miles so I’m always left trying to figure out what every blogger is talking about. ๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s my pleasure. Wish I was doing a better job following other blogs. Thank you for always visiting mine!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Run-walk is the best way to improve your running when you’re starting out. It’s the original interval training!
    As your running improves you’ll be able to go longer distances when doing run-walk, or shorter distances just running. If your goal is to run faster, try reducing your distance in some workouts so you can run the whole way. For instance your run-walk gets you 5km currently in 8 minute blocks. Try one workout where your distance goal is 2km, but run that 2km non-stop. Because you don’t have to make the full distance you’ll be able to run a bit faster, and you’ll also have gone more than 8 minutes (maybe about 15 minutes). Hey presto, you’re a non-stop runner! your 5km workout is now your long workout. By alternating short-fast runs with long-slow runs, you’ll get stronger which means you can run for longer on your long runs. All the best!

    • Wow!! Thanks for the great advice!!
      What would you recommend if I can run 5k (even 10k) straight?? Should I still keep it small and short until I am at the pace I want to be and then add distance? Or should I just push harder and run 5k straight and use 10k as the long slow runs?

      • Hi there! Generally you can add pace or distance, but not at the same time. Which one you go for depends on your goals. An ‘information overload’ warning here – it’s a lot to talk about in a blog comment!

        If you want to improve your 5k and 10k then I would say you have got a good base to work with already, and you can start adding in shorter, faster runs.

        A good rule of thumb is make your medium run half the distance of your long run, and your short runs half the distance of your medium run.
        So if you can do 10k as your Long Slow Distance run (conversational pace or run-walk), your midweek medium run would be 5k (run at a ‘comfortable’ pace – harder than your LSD, but not too hard and ideally steady-state running), your short run/s would be 2.5k (run at a ‘comfortably hard’ pace). Don’t forget to do a good warmup and cool down before and after all your runs. Especially the faster runs. They will tax you more and you’ll be more likely to injure yourself if you’re not warming up and cooling down properly. Now, this is 4 days of running, and about 20km. The shorter faster runs will build strength and VO2 max, improving your pace. The long slow runs will build endurance – the time you can stay on your feet and keep moving. Now, this is the hard bit. You need to judge what is hard, comfortable and conversational pace for you. And they are subject to change depending on environmental and physiological factors. If this type of training is new to you, I’d recommend that you do the first week all at the same pace as your LSD run to get used to the format. In the second week make the shorter runs a bit faster, but keep the medium run same pace as your LSD. In the third week, try to do all 3 paces: short-fast, medium and LSD runs. After a few weeks more you should see improvement in your running.

        Sorry for the sprawling nature of this reply, the last (I promise) comment is ‘listen to your body’. If you’re getting too fatigued or getting niggles, slow down your paces, reduce the distances or take an extra rest day. Or all three if you need. Less running in the short term is better than no running in the longer term because of an injury!

        Again, sorry for the essay! I hope I haven’t gone too over the top and you can use some of the info!

      • Wawawewa!! That is amazing!!! Don’t ever be sorry for helping out!! That actually makes a lot of sense. I’ve been reviewing so many running plans and just get confused with what is best for what I want to achieve. You’ve helped out dramatically!!! I think I’m going to use your tips and build a plan similar to this with a little more distance. I feel running 2km is just tooooo short.
        This is just amazing and I am touched by your support and kindness to help me out here. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Happy running!!
        Sincerely,
        Diana

      • Hi Diana,
        You’re welcome! Glad I could help.
        Yes, 2.5k is short, but when you add in 10min slow jog warmup and cool down either side its more like 5k, just the 2.5k is run quite hard to give you greater aerobic capacity and strength.
        Enjoy! And Happy Running!

  3. Hello there!

    I really enjoy reading your blog, so I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Check out my latest post for more information if you are interested in participating.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

