Adjusting to Weather

Hey There,

I got up nice and early this morning to do a nice little 5k run. A little chilly! It was 8ºC (46ºF). I wore shorts and a long sleeve. Probably need to go the other way. Longer pants (kapris or full pants) and a t shirt. I could feel my skin crackling on my thighs, but it was a great feeling! What do you wear when it gets to 0ºC? I know the rule to always dress 10 degrees warmer than the actual temperature, but really, when do I start pulling out the gloves and headband to cover my ears?

Running Inspiration Human Heart LimitsOctober 9 Run: 39:46 (mm:ss), 5.02 km, 7’55″/km

So, it was a little cool and I was running slow just to get the distance in but when I got to my last KM at around 33 minutes, I said I can’t finish a 5k in over 40 minutes so I kicked it up a notch. I finished my last km in 6 minutes 31 seconds!!!! Well, I guess it’s true, when you set our mind to something, you can do it! I need to keep pushing myself to be the best me I can and I won’t stop!

Since my last post, I have decided all my runs will have to be 5 k and if they aren’t then the following run will be increased by the difference. Let’s say tomorrow I run 3 km, then the following run will have to be 7 km! This will hopefully get me to the 1000 km goal in a shorter time 🙂 .

In an earlier post in September, I mentioned wanting to sign up for more runs before the year is over. I have now officially signed up for two runs in December!!

December 7: Santa 5K – Everybody has to be in the Santa costume that comes in your race kit to participate!
December 31: Resolution Run

These two runs are more  fun runs for myself. These will most likely be done in snow! I could already see my breath all morning during my run and even fogged up my own glasses sometimes, haha. I’m excited to be part of these two runs as it will really push my limits and be a staple of how far I’ve come from not running to running in the Canadian Winter!!! 😀

I hope you remember to take some time to reflect on your success in running and in life. If you haven’t, take some time and reflect, you’re a wonderful human being and you’ve come a long way, be happy and be proud of your success and how far you’ve come in life.

Happy Running

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Adjusting to Weather

  1. Great to see you still getting out there, Diana! We have had the first breath of cooler temps here – actually did my long run last weekend in a chilly rain, it was NICE! (Except for the part about my hands going numb, don’t care much for that 😦 ) However, I now have the excuse to go shopping for more running clothes – long sleeves and tights, because I cannot repeat the performance from last winter, when newbie runner Nicky tried running in cotton sweats or nylon jogging suit – blech!

    You are so right about surprising yourself when you push harder than you thought – here’s to hoping for that sub-25 minute 5K on Saturday, and maybe even a sub-1:30:00 ten-mile on Sunday to boot!

    • Thanks Nick! Shopping for running clothes is awesome! 🙂
      Don’t worry, I’ve made the same mistakes and still do sometimes with over dressing or wearing non-running clothing for a run… Silly.
      Time to check out your blog for your run results!

  2. PaulSmuts

    Love that Bill Bowerman quote! I remember first seeing it in the Steve Prefontaine movie ‘Without “Limits’

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

