Caving In & Running for a Cure

Hi there,

I hope you all had a successful weekend! I have two updates to post for this weekend a few other notes to share.

October 5 Run: 27:04 (mm:ss), 3:31 km, 8’11″/km

October 6 CIBC Run for the Cure: 38:00 (mm:ss), 5.41 km, 7’01″/km

Saturday. Let’s cover Saturday’s run first. I CAVED and had to get out for a run. My last run was Tuesday and by Saturday I was dying to run again and just couldn’t wait until Sunday so I let myself outside and said I’d do 3 KMs and at a very very slow pace. I accomplished this and felt better than ever. I was sooo happy I gave myself this run. After a run early in the morning and a late night getting in from my first ever NHL Hockey game at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto to watch the Leafs’ home opener vs the Ottawa Senators, I called it a night at about 1 AM. I don’t stay up late so this made me worry a little bit about having to run the next morning.

CIBC RUN FOR THE CURE INSPIRATION 2013

Top right is pre run and bottom left is post run.

Sunday Morning. Not a problem! Let’s wake up and shower (yes my pre-race routine includes a shower). Off we go. Running for a Cure, my friend and I did the run to raise money for a better future for all of our breasts. Our team raised $680!!  This makes me very happy!! I hope one day we  can find a cure for cancer (and breast cancer). The atmosphere, energy, and support of everyone at this venue was incredible. I loved all the kids and the spirit that was there!! This is definitely a run I want to continue to do every year for as long as I am alive. I am happy that I am running and continue to run for a cause.

The Run. This is my second time doing this run. My first was my first ever race last September – this was a Big Day for me. It was last year and it is again this year. It marks my progress over the last year. I finished the 5k run almost 2 minutes faster! Although I luckily wasn’t sick this year and gained a bit of momentum from that, I did learn a lot about myself and being a runner in the last year. The Route had changed due to construction and instead of 5k it was 5.4km! What a bummer.. By the time I realized this, I was 150m away from 5k so I gave it my all to try to hit my 35 minute goal… The finish line was actually much further away so I didn’t realize I had to empty the tank earlier than where the finish line actually was.  I was unsuccessful at this and finished 5K in 35:19. Although I finished with a group of Warriors around age 9 – 11, it’s not too shabby. I’m getting better!!  I did run nonstop and tried to pace my friend but she drifted off after about 1.5km in; I did get to finish, walk back and run through the finish line with her again; that felt great being able to see her push through and destroy her 5k time! Can’t wait to see her progress in a year when we run this again next year. 🙂

More Happiness. Today’s 5k also marked my 500 km recorded on Nike +! That’s pretty awesome that I’ve run over 500 km as of today. I cannot wait to destroy this and get to 1000 km in even less time and less number of runs. This is definitely a huge milestone for me and I’d like to give a shout out to runrchatts for beating his first 500 km on Nike+ too! He also wore a pink ribbon today while he did his run for his half-marathon training. Thanks for the support 🙂

Other Notes. This will be my last fundraising efforts for 2013. I thank everyone who had supported me/the cause I have been raising awareness for. I know I have exhausted all of you, my friends, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for giving what you can. In the next two months I am looking forward to volunteering and getting hands on with helping before I start to look at fundraising again in the new year. I do also have two other runs I plan on signing up for but those are both fun (non chipped timed) runs that I’ll be doing more for myself. I love to run and I think adding in some runs just for the experience and joy will be great to add to the list of my race history. I feel that over this weekend I have had so many thoughts I wanted to blog about but as I’ve run out of time and left blogging to Sunday night before bed, I am scrambling with those thoughts… I will update you with any further notes I may have throughout the week as I continue to run.  Thank you for reading, following, liking, commenting, and supporting me. Thank you for being you and awesome!

Happy Running!

rundmach

Categories: achievements, blog, Thank You | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Caving In & Running for a Cure

  1. findingmystrong

    SO great! I did a run for the cure type event called Dewey Goes Pink this weekend —> http://findingmystrong.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/race-recap-dewey-goes-pink/

    • That’s awesome!!! I’m glad your allergies went away too (I get some odd seasonal allergies too and it’s pretty annoying to be outside during them).
      You had an amazing time finish too, congrats! 🙂

      • findingmystrong

        Thank you! The rashes and puffiness went away but now I cannot stop sneezing and my nose will not stop running. You cannot win with allergies :p

  2. Congrats! Great accomplishment, both in terms of your 5km and your year of training! And BTW…I shower before I run too!

    • Thanks Kelly!!
      I’m glad I’m not the only one. I always feel weird when people ask me why I wake up SOOOOO early on race day and I have to say it’s because I have to shower.

  3. Christine

    I’m proud of both of us 🙂 It was a really good run and I can’t believe how fine the weather was, given the forecast of thunderstorms!!
    I really appreciate all your support in getting me back out running again! Instead of letting injuries keep me down I feel like I can work through it and keep going as long as I make sure to take care of myself properly. The articles and blog posts you send me are definitely helpful!
    I’m also super stoked at how much we raised for CBCF. If there’s one cause I always want to be part of in one way or another, it’s this one.
    Here’s to future runs and to some volunteering as well!!

    • Oh Chris!! How you melt my heart girl! It was a very good run and I am soooooo proud of you!! I kept looking back to make sure you were alright and realized I was putting myself in danger and you are strong enough you don’t need me anymore!
      I’m glad I’m not annoying but helpful 🙂
      We shall continue running to honour those in your life affected; I plan to run this race the rest of my life, so basically you’ll be part of this the rest of yours because I’m pretty sure we’ll be friends forever. 🙂

  4. I have nominated you for the Liebster Award because of your up and coming blog. 🙂 I really enjoy what you have written about your running and fitness. I have posted 10 questions on my blog that you must answer to receive your award. There are also these requirements as well:
    Here are the rules for accepting the nomination:

    You must link back to the person who nominated you

    You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you

    You must pick 10 bloggers who have less than 200 followers to be nominated for the award

    You must devise 10 questions for your nominees to answer

    You must go to their blogs to nominate them

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

