Uh-Oh…

Hello Runday,

I’m not on a running plan right now but I know most runners do their long runs on Sunday which should now be known as Runday going forward! If Subway can rename the days of the week to chicken teriyaki , so can runners!!

Today’s a busy day and I wanted to make sure I got a run in even if it meant running early and my body wouldn’t be fully recuperated from last night’s run… I got up and headed out.

September 29 Run: 25:22 (mm:ss), 3.41 km, 7’26″/km

After reading a bunch of inspiring blogs this morning, I set out to complete 5k after discovering the  Automattic’s World Wide WP 5K from Striding Toward’s Life. It’s pretty neat how the blogging community comes together and the running community is so strong.

As you can see by my results, I didn’t achieve 5k today. These aren’t excuses but just plain truths. My body was definitely still tired from yesterday, my body felt so foreign to me as I tried to push myself. That caused me to run a little bit slower, but no big deal, just cover the distance. Then this happened…  Over my last few runs I’ve been feeling like my left shoe is tied too tight as the top of my foot is hurting quite a bit once I start running. Today, I virtually tied a knot at the end of the laces and my foot still hurt!! By about 2k I realized, it’s not the shoe that’s too tight, it’s my foot!! I could feel my foot ripping apart. Oh no!! What was I going to do? It hurt so bad today I actually stopped to walk but then I had to completely stop when walking caused the lower arch of my foot to hurt. What was I to do? The top hurt the most while running… after a minute I just said okayrunning inspiration walking is not defeat let’s keep going and see how it feels, by the time I looped around the corner and got closer to home. I decided that I would just run my way home and call it a day, after all I did get in my 5k yesterday but I really wanted to get the 5k in today for the love of running! I kept pushing… then realized, I need to be smart, I need to listen to my body, if my foot is saying stop, I should stop. So I got home, grabbed some water, and went for a walk to cover the rest of the distance. When I walk, there’s no pain. The last thing I wanted to do is hurt myself before next Runday’s CIBC Run for the Cure 5k charity run.

The results, Falling for the Best will be my contribution to the wwwp5k! I don’t run with a camera phone or anything so I couldn’t take a photo of my run but I’m excited to use yesterday’s run as it was a personal best in the last little bit. It was a very successful run and I’m glad I did it and happy I can put it towards the wwwp5k.

running inspiration training for a lifetimeI hope you remember to listen to your body! It’s good to push and strive for greatness but sometimes, you do just need to step back and take a breath, it doesn’t mean you’re quitting or giving up, you’re just building up more energy to destroy the next run!

Happy Runday!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Uh-Oh…

  1. I hope your injury clears up soon! Remember – it is more important to rest it so that you can cover the distance than to try to cover the distance in preparation.

    • Thanks! I will try my hardest to keep off of it. Even taking a night off my 30 day challenge…. Swapped for a rest day today and will do it tomorrow instead.

  2. Nice work, Diana…both on wwwp5k, and on recognizing a problem and responding appropriately! Many runners (and a lot of other people too, honestly) will ignore what is right in front of them – or under them, in our case – until things simply fall apart. Good on you for trusting your body and your instincts, and I know you will do great next week!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

