Falling for the Best

Hello there,

September 28 Run: 35:29 (mm:ss), 5k, 7’05″/km

Tonight was going to be an “easy” run to do a 5k since I’ve been pushing to up my speed the last two runs. Well, I just did my fastest 5k since early May of this year. Woohoo!!! I’ll always take a win. Today was a test and practice run to pace myself. I set the first 3k as the standard to just run a slower steady pace with no walk breaks, between 6’40” to 7’00″/km. I don’t know how people can pace so well?? I just run! My breathing is still super hard and I’m sure all the passer-bys are wondering if I need an ambulance. I noticed today as I was trying to train myself to pace, (can’t rely on my watch, especially at night when it’s so dark out), no matter how fast or even slow I moved my legs, my breathe was the same. It was hard and heavy but I added one then two more steps in the same breathing count and the breathing was the same but my legs could move faster, or slower. So what’s my problem? I don’t think I know how to breathe…. I’m breathing in and out trying to use my stomach and inhaling through my nose and out my mouth… No dice, I’m still struggling to get air in at the same rate, no matter how hard I’m moving the rest of my body.

Well, regardless of not being able to keep a steady pace, I completed 3k straight in about 21 minutes, walked a minute, ran 900 meters, walked a minute, and completed the run as strong as I could. I am so proud of myself for the time I did run. This gives me so much hope with how much faster I can actually run and how much more I can continue to push myself!!!

20130928-213559.jpgAlthough this is not a PR or anything, it feels like a personal best, at least it is for the last 4 months!! This fall season feels great for running with cooler temperatures and great inspiration surrounding me to be the best version of me I can be. Only one more week until the CIBC Run for the Cure! Hopefully my 50/50 raffle and fundraiser raffle for a day off at work will drive in some dollars for the cause.
Can’t wait to beat some actual personal records and continue to help drive change in the world!

Hope you’re enjoying the nicer weather, running, and staying happy!

Love life, happy running!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

