Fast & Flexible

Hi There,

September 21 Run: 20:19 (mm:ss), 3.02 km, 6’43″/km

This run was a planned experiment. It did happen a lot later in the day than I had hoped but it happened and I’m glad it did. After talking about my slow pace for so long, I decided, why aim for the 5k every run, why not shorten it down to a more “intense” run, let’s see what I can really do. My fastest ever 5K I had completed in 34 minutes (that’s 6’46″/km), I am now ranging around the 38 minute mark, how does one get slower? Well, it’s not for the lack of trying I can tell you that. This has got to be mental and some physical.

Today’s test, Run as fast as I can for 1KM, walk 1 minute, run the next km as fast as I can, walk 1 minute, and run the last 800 meters the fastest I can. Goal was to do 3k as fast as I can.
Well, who knew, I ran this in a pace that is an entire minute faster than my current average pace. Not to mention, the 1st KM I ran in a minutes, that’s huge for me!! That means if I can add distance to my average speed today, I can knock out that 34 minute, 5k, from May and run at the speeds I was earlier in the year – Maybe I’ll even hit running under 6 minute km’s like I did last year… Where did all my speed go?

Another part of this experiment was to test my breathing and my chest/heart… Well, it turns out the harder I push my legs, the same rate my heart beats and same breathing patterns: I’m still breathing hard and heavy, my heart is still pumping as hard as every, but my legs just keep going. It was an 8 minute to walk home and my heart was still going but the cool down walk was very nice.

I know I have gained some weight since last year (actually about 10lbs), so it’s fair to say that my speed would slow down. But, after all of this, I’m drawing the conclusion that it has to be mostly mental. I’ve got a new plan, run less but run harder. Not always but maybe every other run or once a week. Then add more distance each time, just a little bit. I will still have those slow & steady runs of course. I’m going to look into some more detailed 5k run plans and see if those can help build up my endurance and speed.

The next run is in 2 weeks; it is the very first 5k event I ever did (last September – The Big Day!).  I can’t wait to run this again even though the route has changed a little bit due to construction. I was sick last year but I motored on and got through it in less time than I can run 5k now!…… This year, I plan on being in good health and will hopefully run a PR!!!

nike run inspiration

Happy Running,

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Fast & Flexible

  1. It is amazing how we settle into a rhythm…but you can break free and push yourself further/faster than you ever imagined. Congrats! Reminds me of my “awakening” http://3zigs.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/shaking-it-up/

    • Wow, I love your awakening. I feel like I’ve done the same thing with fartleks once before and it did feel amazing. Now I just have to remember to incorporate it more into my runs. I felt the same way as you did, never thought I could get faster, or in my case slower! Haha. Thanks 🙂
      Keep running and being great!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

