What’s The Goal?

Hey there,

I don’t even know where the rest of last week went after my last blog. Time just flew by with work.

August 26 Run: 31:42 minutes, 4.05 km, 7’50″/km

This was an awfully tough run. It was humid and muggy which means it was just that much harder for me to breathe. I am definitely still struggling with my breathing. It’s tough. Mentally, I thought I had 5k in the bag. From the start I felt aches and pains in spots I’ve never felt. Run them off, so I thought but the run back was just a struggle that stopping at 4 was a decision to protect myself from pushing myself too hard and risking an injury.

20130826-212706.jpgMy thoughts through the run today were muffled by just focussing on my breathe and trying to find the right rhythm and getting enough air in. Mostly my thoughts would wander back to, am I running for time or running for a distance? Do I run and walk or run slower at a steady pace? I have been reading a lot on running this last year and have read articles that support and bash both of these topics. Which is it? Do I run to hit a certain distance or do I run to hit a specified time? Do I walk in-between? The more I thought and continue to think about this, does it matter? I’m running, that’s all that matters! Just keep running until I can’t run anymore!!! What about you? What do you set your running goals to?

Hope you’re enjoying your runs! Can’t wait to get in some more!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

