This is MY Race

Happy Sunday,

Happy Mother’s Day to all you readers! You’re all very special and cherished. I had the privilege to take my mom out for a lovely lunch today after my 10K race. Although exhausted from being awake at 4:30 am, I made it rough, inhaled some awesome vermicelli, and spent some time with my momma. Great day!

Now that I’m home and a bit more rested, I can tell you all about the big race!

May 12 Sporting Life 10k Race: 1:11:11, 10.30 km, 6’54″/km

This day started extremely early with needing to wake up and shower (yes, shower before a race to wake me up), eat, digest, and get myself to the race. Thankfully I went to bed early and got a decent amount of rest. Weather was horrible, somewhere around 6Β°C but felt more like 2Β°C… I didn’t mind until about an hour into the wait and my toes were going numb. I met up with two fellow teammates before the run, wished them luck and lined up in our respective corrals. We missed the other three members; it’s tough finding three people in a sea of over 27,000! One of our runners is injured so he didn’t run today. I did get to see everyone from the team who ran at the end. I came last in my team but I am super stoked with my personal best! Huge shout outs to runrchatts on the team who also achieved his personal best today too! You’re awesome, thank you for all of your help training me!

The event was a bit confusing… I lined up just because I read online and have been to a race before but there wasn’t any real announcement I could hear, maybe I was too far back? We had no clue if the elites had started or not. Half an hour later we started moving towards the start. Off I went. I avoided the first water station… Originally to be at the 3k, it appeared at the 4k… It was a disaster! No water on the first five tables, just a mess.. The last two had a few poor kids trying to pour and hand water as fast as they can. I relied on my Nike fuel belt. At 6 and 8 k i had a couple gummies – Honey Stingers from one of my coworkers/running mates who had given me earlier in the week. Not sure if they helped but they didn’t slow me down. I did pick up water for a few sips at 7 k as I was running low on my belt. I ran on… On and on and on… Actually, it didn’t feel all that long! I was hoping to have had a pace bunny to follow but there were none… I ran all on my own today, no partner, just my watch and iPod to keep me focused and on track.

20130512-191934.jpgCrazy enough, this was an amazing run for me! I had this insane kick at the end for the last 400 meters where I ran up to 4’47″/km! I am disappointed as I could have started my kick much earlier! I had so much fuel left… Oh well. I’ll know better next time. Yes, I will definitely do another 10K! Besides, this one was all downhill, and it was an extra 300 m. I also ran without the ugly run face. Satisfied with my challenging yet comfortable pace I was running. I felt happy and confident.

I felt great this run! I was content and just floated on. I coast by the run… Maybe that’s a hint that I was not fast enough for myself, but I did keep checking my watch to make sure I wasn’t going too fast, to tire myself out, or too slow, to finish at my 1 hour 14 minute goal. I beat that goal and I finished the race without walking!

There was a LOT of self talk this run but a lot of good talks… Well.. Chants… Each time I got a little bit discouraged by losing the runner I was following pace with (or seeing that I was running at the same speeds walk/runners were), I had to keep telling myself, THIS IS MY RUN! and THIS IS MY RACE! And I did just that, I ran for me and raced myself. Everyone around was just an obstacle on the street and a distraction to look at, not a competitor.

20130512-193242.jpg

Woohoo! More collectables for my shoe box!

I got my medal, water, bananas, and met up with the team. Took a few photos and tried to get myself warmed up ASAP! Of course I warmed up from the running but standing around down by Lake Ontario gets cold quick when wind gusts are huge and a storm is rolling in. Hail started hitting shortly in the day, luckily I had found my way to my mom’s already.

Most importantly, our team raised money for Camp Ooch. As a team we have raised $1163!!!! A little shy of sending a child to camp for an entire week, but we did hit over 5 days! I hope some kid(s) really enjoys their time! πŸ™‚
Thank you to everyone who has helped support this cause, support me, and volunteer at the event!!!

I am super excited to start my next fundraising initiative and sign up for more races!!

rundmach

Categories: achievements, blog, Thank You | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “This is MY Race

  1. Congratulations on a great race and also raising the money for charity. I think that is fantastic!

  2. Well done and a BIG congratulations! πŸ˜€

  3. Congrats and thanks so much for sharing with us!

  4. Johnny

    Congratulations! Huge accomplishment for yourself and a great cause!

    • Thanks Johnny! I’m stoked to start fundraising for my next cause and start training again!
      Happy running πŸ™‚

  5. Love, love, LOVE the fact that you are running with and for a cause. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Congratulations πŸ™‚ ! I’ve got my first ever race/10k tomorrow and hope that it goes as well as yours did – I especially love how you saw others as obstacles/distractions as opposed to competitors – am definitely going to take this approach so thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

