Solo Tribute

Hey there,

This one’s for Christine!
May 9 Run: 27:16, 4.02km, 6’46″/km

Today marks 1 year since I went for my first run. It would have been awesome if my friend could have joined me who pushed me (we pushed each other) to run. As mentioned, she’s been injured so I ran the same route we did last year as a tribute (+1 km).

Can you believe it? I can’t! So, how far have I really come?

Last year I died trying to accomplish 3 km and this year… I still struggled! But that’s okay, this year, I ran the entire time without having to walk so that’s a great improvement!!! I do have to say, I went into this thinking I would run the lap we did around the block twice, but that was out of question after the first km, my legs were BURNING! So… No more running until the big 10k this Sunday!

I still weigh the same (or slightly heavier..) but at least I’m doing something that I’m passionate about and is healthy for me!!

In the past year, I’ve found a new me, a new love, a new outlook. Despite what others may not see as any changes, I am a happier person. I’d be happier if I could just shed a few pounds instead of gaining constantly but I’ll give it some more time. Besides, I still want to have my chicken wings and pizza! Mmmmm…. Wish I had some right now!

I’ve come so far, I’ve invested a lot of money into running gear that I would have never thought I’d need. Let me tell you, running isn’t as cheap as some people make it out to be. I’ve even gone so deep and started trying energy bars for pre and post runs to make sure I get the nutrients I need. I’ve spent money on a new pair of shoes, GPS watch, a Nike fuel band, a hydration belt, running clothes, the previously mentioned power bars, and so far down to hair elastics and pins. I’m sure I’ve spent much more on many other things but I’m not too worried, if it’s motivation to keep me going, I’ll take it!

Every run I run for me but every run I run for a cause and am always reminding myself to never stop and keep going for those who wished they could. I will always run to better my health but I will do what I can to help wherever I can.
20130509-221143.jpg
I know I am not the fastest, nor am I progressing as fast as many other female runners I read about… Sometimes I am at awe by the stories I read and wonder, I was never that big so why does it seem so much harder for me? Maybe I need to push harder this summer and not fall off during fall/winter. I will set new goals and work harder!

Discovering the online blog community, falling for the running family, following inspirational blogs, and receiving your support has meant the world to me. You fuel my runs.

I feel I have lived this past year to the fullest, learned a lot from it, and grown to become better. I’m sure there are points I am missing that may be key to my past year, but all that matters is I continue to lace up and run! 🙂

There’s only two more days of fundraising left, please donate a couple bucks if you can. For more info visit, Running for Fun.

Thank you for your continued likes, follows, visits, dollars, encouraging words, and any way you have shown your support!!

Sincerely,
rundmach

20130509-221242.jpg

Categories: achievements, blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Solo Tribute

  1. Johnny

    Good luck with your 10K this weekend! OWN IT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

