Hydration

20130507-222701.jpg

Hi there,

May 7 Run: 34:05, 5.01 km, 6’47″/km

Unfortunately, a little slower than my last. A bit disappointed because I am not completely drained but I also didn’t have enough willpower to kick it in the end either… despite it all, it’s okay, I ran! I was running with a hydration belt with two 6oz bottles. Extremely annoying! I tried this as practice for the 10k since there are only two water stations: 3 and 7 km. I don’t think I can wear it. The bottles bounce up and down way too much. I don’t want to run holding, carrying, or strapping anything either. I feel like I’m out of options. What do you do for hydration during longer runs?

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Hydration

  1. I’m not a distance runner, so I can’t help you here. But you DO need water. Invent something and you’ll make a fortune 😉

  2. Johnny

    The fuel belt was annoying at first, but you get used to it. Make it tight but comfy. Maybe borrow a different kind from a friend to see if it suits you better? I always skip the water stations as they’re too chaotic. You really should have one with you for the 10K.

  3. I used http://www.amphipod.com/products/hydration/hydration-belts/runlite-hydration-belts/runlite-4 for several years but over the winter I decided to try http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000MZHTSO/ref=oh_details_o07_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1. It just has to be tight enough and the bouncing is tolerably. It could be that I’m just used to it. When I go on really long runs in the heat, 10+ miles, I use a camelback which I felt taking much more getting used to than the fuel belts for me. I’ve carried a water bottle while running and I really don’t like it at all.

    Unless it is hot at race time, 2 water-stations is usually enough for me. I almost always carry water for a run of 5 miles or more.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

