Speed Play

Happy Weekend!

Yesterday, I went for a run on my lunch break at work. It was great in the 21°C sun! Something about the weather just makes me happy and my body soaks up the energy!

20130504-131700.jpgApril 3 Run/Fartlek: 19:16, 1.86 miles / 3 km (2.78 on Nike+)

This fun run, I tried something called fartleks… I’ve been trying to understand the difference between all the different training techniques and ways to improve. I found a very great article that breaks down the difference between fartleks, tempo runs, intervals, hills, etc. check it out if you need some guidance or clarification on different ways to run: The Runner’s Building Blocks. This was actually very helpful as I just never understood the lingo in running or what was different between tempo and interval runs. I’m not quite 100% sure I get it, but I get what fartleks are and I tried it out yesterday.

My goal was to run 3 km, no other goals. After running for a bit I decided I’d try this fartlek that I read about. I set trees and streets as markers of when I would run hard and where I would slow down. I did this a couple times making sure I gave myself enough of a “easy” pace between each burst. I’m not sure if what I am doing is “right” but as long as I’m running and not hurting myself, it’s perfect! 🙂 I did find this online as well to help describe a fartlek run:
20130504-131246.jpg
I really enjoyed this run even if it wasn’t for the fun fartleks. The beautiful weather, my breathing, and pace was all pretty good. I also can’t complain since my pace is picking up when I run during the daytime, less than 7 min per km again! I’m a day person, I know this, I just never put it together with running until now.

I’m going to run a few more times this week during lunch before the race next Sunday. Yes, it’s next Sunday!! I’m excited for this one to be over so I can have that 10k under my belt and start signing up for more races…probably in the 5k region though.

Any-who, time to enjoy the weekend! I hope you have a wonderful weekend yourself!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

