Any Day Now

passionGOOD MORNING,

Yes, it is still morning and I’ve already been out for a run, I think it’s time to hit the sack as I’ve completed my goals for the day. Ha, yeah right! There’s still laundry and cleaning at bay!

April 27 Run: 46 minutes, 3.73 miles (6km, 6.42 km on Nike+)

Today’s run time consisted of ONLY my run time, no warm up or cool down. Luckily, I was able to get to run with runrchatts again today. Without him, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have run in the morning. THANK YOU! 😀 He was only free for the morning so that’s why I ran in the morning. Oh and as I blog, he’s still out running now!!

jordanWe got outside and I told him today I wanted to do 6 km, I have no other plans other than to just run and finish 6km. We did 6 km straight but it was a struggle for me. After 1/4 of a km I was already exhausted and wanted to stop. I felt really bad about the slow pace I was going as I could tell it was too easy for rchatts. At 1.5, 2.5, 3.5, 4.5, and 5.5 km, I noticed how hard it was for me to breathe. I like running with rchatts because he has his GPS on his armband which is next to the side I run on; so every time I catch up to him, donotI’m able to see the true distance since my Nike+ App is wrong on my iPod Nano. I was panting for air every time but the run was worth it. It was 46 minutes of straight running, that’s only 3.2% of my day! Sounds so insignificant to the overall when it does so much for the bigger picture.

Breathing is still a struggle for me on some days and today was horrible. It has to come…. My breath is just not there… there’s something blocking my lungs and I can feel my body stopping my breathes from going down my throat. What’s my problem? I’ve tried doing breathing exercises while I’m not running, focussing on my breathe as much as I can but very little improvement has come. Do you have any suggestions?

GPS RUNNING WATCH: Do you wear a running watch of some sort? Do you have a GPS watch? What do you run with? Please share and provide me with your feedback on your product of choice or even negative feedback on others. I’m contemplating getting the Nike+ GPS Watch but I’ve heard Garmin is really good (just pricey). I would really appreciate any insight from you as I really want to be able to keep track of my own progress when I run on my own.

It’s going to be a beautiful weekend, I hope you get outside and enjoy it! 🙂

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Any Day Now

  1. Have you considered being tested for exercise induced asthma? It hit me suddenly when I was in high school – I was a soccer player, but then suddenly could not run 1/4 mile without being incredibly out of breath, for no good reason. After being diagnosed, I was able to treat myself before exercising with an inhaler to open up my lungs and be able to breathe properly. You could always ask your doctor if it is possible to get tested for this (I think the test is expensive, though, just to warn you).

    • That’s actually a great suggestion! I had asthma as a child and I never really thought about it coming back. I’m definitely going to see my doctor to ask about this. Thank you so much for opening my eyes up.

  2. Pingback: LunaTik Watch Wrist Strap for iPod Nano 6G – Silver | WWW.PRODUCTSIN.COM

  3. Johnny

    I have an older Garmin Forerunner 305 and I simply cannot run without it. Aside from timing (I run 10:1 intervals), it helps me keep an eye on my pace. I tend to start off far too fast for my own good, especially during races, and this allows me to settle down a bit.
    On top of that, all the data and mapping you can download from it is REALLY cool. It’s great if you’re a data hound (split times, etc) as well as mapping over Google Earth. Have a look: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/304675731

    My Garmin isn’t available anymore, but I’m sure other models are even better. Can’t recommend it highly enough!

    Keep at it!

    • Thanks! I’m still torn and undecided. The Garmin site does have a lot to offer compared to Nike but also costs more. I will keep reading more reviews and asking around.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

