Back to Basics

Hi There,

Despite the -2°C temperatures this morning, I got outside and ran bright and early. By the time I was done running it was +1°C! Yay! Hahaha… It is a beautiful day out now though 🙂

April 14 Run: 37 minutes, 3.2 miles (5.15km, 5.30km in Nike+)

I’ve been battling this whole training program a little bit, knowing that my runs are getting longer and tougher to build me up to the 10k. Today I wanted to feel how I felt when I first started running, ambitious and in love with the lifestyle. I invited rchatts to come over for a run and he said yes. I had breakfast while I waited. The first thing I did was lay out the plan when we went outside: I’m running the same 5k route I did last September, I don’t care about pace or time, I just want to love running again. It’s not so much I fell out of running but all this focus on long hard runs and training to plan has gotten me a bit disconnected with how much I do love running. That ugly face I had when I did the 5K Harry Rosen run, didn’t exist today and I ran a little more than 5 k in two more minutes. I know if I had focused on time and pace I would have destroyed my personal best, but that wasn’t the goal today.

20130414-141701.jpg
Today I ran lightly for the first two kilometers. I picked it up until the last 500 m (really 600) and ran my heart out. Finding out there was 100m left to the end mark (5.15km instead of 5! How deceptive), I sprinted! I started at one point and said I would finish at a specific point and I did (despite rchatts ‘ GPS telling me we had already done 5k). I emptied the tank and it felt amazing!

The run was great. I felt comfortable and relaxed most of the time. Breathing was extremely hard as it always is for me. Rchatts was extremely supportive as always, thanks! There were many other runners and walkers out. This is what I love about running. I enjoyed the pace, I enjoyed the scenery, I enjoyed the company and fellow runners/walkers, I enjoyed life.

I know I need to train to get to 10k but I also need to remember to break down my runs into the fun runs that I do enjoy. Ultimately, those long runs will be my fun runs! 😀

So, if you’re struggling getting to where your goals are, just stop thinking about them for a day, shut your brain off, enjoy the beauty of life, tie up your shoes, and just run.

Sincerely,
rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. Christine

    I’m digging the positive feeling in this post! Keep the good vibes going 🙂 I’m excited for the feeling you’re going to have when you finish the 10K!!

  2. You’ve done very well. I think my lungs would freeze if I ran in -2°C temperatures! 😀

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

