Stepping it Up 10:3

Hey There!

Today I have run my furthest distance yet and I didn’t even eat dinner yet! I’ll be munching on food as I blog, so don’t worry, I’m getting my energy back in!

April 3 Run: 66 min, 5.35 miles (8.61 KM or 8.13 km on Nike+)

This run was back on the treadmill because it feels like -6° C outside right now. I am definitely praying for good weather for this Saturday. The forecasts have changed up and down from Sun, Rain, Snow, Rain, Sleet, Flurries, and now Sun again. Fingers crossed we get sun or snow (no rain). I am hoping to hit a PB (Personal Best) on this race!!

Now to get back to today’s run. I was hungry and wanted to eat first but I really don’t want to be such a bother and run too late with my “loud” treadmill (I even put mats under it now). So, I got home, went out for a walk, then ran on the treadmill… Yes, I understand if I can walk outside for 30 minutes, I probably could have just done the 1 hour run outside.  I feel awesome right now. I haven’t done a third set of anything on this plan and felt great, but after my strategic two-day rest (instead of one), I feel like I destroyed today’s run. The first two intervals of 18 minutes I ran at 5 mph (my standard). T10-3he last 18 minutes I ran at 5.4 mph; Why? Because that puts me at a pace of 11.07 minutes per miles or roughly 6.56 minutes per km. Why am I crazy enough to increase my pace by so much? Because this is the pace I need to do Saturday to Hit 5K in 35 minutes.

I know running is about overcoming my own struggles and beating my own records, but after reading yours and other fellow runners’ blogs, I feel I need to really get in the game! I am definitely running charity runs to raise money and awareness. I am still fundraising for Camp Oochigeas and also running To Fight Prostate Cancer at Harry’s Spring Run-Off this Saturday; so don’t forget to support where you can! 🙂

Anyways, back to the run, it was a little bit of a struggle but really, nothing I haven’t faced before and nothing too challenging; it was manageable. You know what this means? It means I CAN run faster.

imagesCAAFC33XOh, I’ve also wanted to bring up something about running.  Today I was talking to two of my teammates running the Sporting Life 10K with me this May. They were telling me about techniques, plans, and such. One thing that came up with Tempo runs. So, I’ve looked a bit into this before and read about your runs and other runners who have different run schedules. Am I doing a Tempo run? Does it count? I thought I’m doing intervals but really what does it matter? Running to me is Tying up my shoes and running my heart out! Whether I run at 5 mph or 20 mph, I am running and to me, that’s all that matters right now. Yes, I would like to get faster and better, but I think that will come with time. I do focus on a pace, a time, and a distance goal, but ultimately, I just want to run and finish a run. Too much analytical and not enough physical!

Go put on your shoes and run!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Stepping it Up 10:3

  1. Well done! Have you heard anymore from the neighbors about the ‘loud’ treadmill? 😉

    • Thanks! I have not. That was my first run back on the treadmill since I got the notice. I also gave my notice to move out already…. Hopefully I find a place before the end of May, or I’ll be homeless, haha.

  2. Go put on your shoes and run! Love it! And its awesome to hear your steppin up the pace comfortably! Your gonna do great saturday!! I will be thinkin about you and RunRChatts while i’m running my race! Blogger Motivation!

    • Hey! How was your run?!! I hope awesome and warmer than ours!! Thanks for the support! I hope you had a great time 🙂

      • It was great I wrote a post about it, hope yours was great too even with the cold hope to read about it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

