Running 10:2

Hello there,

Happy Easter!

March 31 Run: 66 minutes, 5.10 miles (8.22 km, 8.37 km on Nike+)

Unfortunately, a little slower than the last run; didn’t hit the distance today, but I did finish and charged through the last 6 or 7 minutes with all that I had. Hands in a fist, short quick strides and ran on like a machine; at least I felt like a robot for those moments. The earlier part of the run was extremely challenging. I couldn’t breathe right, my stomach was/still is upset, I couldn’t find a comfortable stride, and I really just wanted to lay in bed all day today.20130331-143150.jpg Honestly, today felt more like a run than any other day. Most of the time I just glide by and my steps seem to be moving the way they should but today I really noticed my steps were shorter. As hard as I tried to float on, I just had to run instead. Luckily I had a run partner again today to pace me and chase after.

Don’t get me wrong, I am super happy I completed the run. Early when runrchatts kept pushing me and encouraging me to find my breathe, I found myself saying “I Can’t!”. In that moment, I broke my own heart. How could those words come out?!! No matter how tough the run is, I CAN!!

I guess that’s what I get for having two pints of beer last night. I know it’s not a lot, but that’s probably the most booze I’ve consumed in one sitting this year. I wasn’t wasted or hung over, my stomach just wasn’t so happy with me this morning. I did have a good time catching up with a couple friends last night and enjoyed sleeping in this morning.

The plan I set for myself is to run one, rest one. Yesterday was a rest day and this was though (I really wanted to go for a 5k record yesterday after reading a bunch of inspiring blogs with beating record times: Set up for Success, My First 5K!!!, and Excitement and Disappointment). During my run today, I just kept thinking, how is my body still so sore after a rest day yesterday? I am eating healthy and all the right foods, but it has dawned on me that I may not be eating enough still; regardless of what all these recommended daily intake plans/diets/whatever you want to call them suggest. I think it’s time to start eating a bit more on my rest and run days. Yay!!!

Speaking of which, I’m off to enjoy some Easter treats, mmm. Hope you all enjoy the day!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

