Friday Night, Date Night 9:1

jiggleBOOYAAAHHH!!

March 22 Run: 61 min, 4.77 miles (8.18 km on Nike+, actually 7.67 km)

Hey There!! That’s my longest run to date, both in distance and in duration! How’s that? 5 minutes walk, 12 minute intervals at 5 mph with 1 minute brisk walks in between followed with a 5 minute cool down jog/walk. YEAAAAAHHHHH!!!

As I blog, I am chowing down dinner. Yes, Friday Night is Date night, tonight I had a date and the treadmill is the third wheel. I made a nice healthy dinner for my date to have while I ran. Now I’m munching on dinner and he’s on the treadmill! I couldn’t ask for a better night! I even got my Nike+ Fuelband all set up, so if you’ve got one, add me! I’m already finding it pretty fun and challenging trying to get to my goal before the day ends. We’ll end the night with a walk together to cool down in the freezing cold outside but the crisp night walk will still be my favourite part to do this together.

Okay, back to the running. Tonight I advanced to the 10k for Pink Week 9, Day 1 run. I’ve had to alter the plan a little bit – I’ll be updating the run plan on the other page shortly once I work all the details out. The plan calls for running 10 minute intervals, but after working out the previous few runs, the app wants me to run a 10 minute mile. I’m currently running at 12 minute mile. Since the whole point of the app and this training is to hit a DISTANCE goal of 10 k do-it-fitness-inspiration-nike-running-Favim_com-324981_largeI’ve decided to adjust my runs to the relative distance the app is assuming I will run. So, the app says walk 5, run 10, walk 1, run 10, walk 1, run 10, walk 1, run 10, walk 5… I’m only going to adjust the running bits as I have been with the past runs. 10 minute mile means I have to add 2 minutes few every 10 the app tells me to run. Not a problem….

By the time I got to 2.5 miles (a little over half my workout), my legs were burning!!! I think I’ll feel this run tomorrow. If not in my legs then definitely in my core. And you know what the best thing is? This is good pain!! I can handle this pain and WANT this kind of pain. Soreness from working is just such a great feeling. Yes, I dread the fact that I might not be able to walk in two days when this run really kicks in but I know it’s working!! 🙂

Yes, tonight’s run was tough, BUT IT WAS WORTH IT!!!  I may not be smiling as I’m focussing on eating and drinking fluids right now but my heart is smiling as big as it can!! 😀

I hope you all had a great Friday night and if not, Carpe Diem!!  GO SEIZE THE DAY!!

Have a wonderful weekend! Can’t wait to blog again!

rundmach

Categories: achievements, blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Friday Night, Date Night 9:1

  1. I love lying in bed at night and feeling your sore muscle from a successful day of fitness!

  2. You must feel great! 😀

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

