5K Liebster Award – 8:3 Success!

Hello World!!

Tonight I blog in extreme excitement!! I have much to say so this may get a little long – be warned. πŸ™‚

March 20 Run: 46 minutes, 3.70 miles (6.41 km on Nike+)

First off, WOHOO!! I ran 5 KM straight on the treadmill in 36 minutes and 20 seconds!! Second, I’ve blogged about Nike+ quite a bit and it’s obvious, something is wrong with it, 3.70 miles is really 5.95 km. This is almost half a full km off. That’s a pretty big difference when training for a 10 k! Third, back to the good, I ran 36:20 with the last minute upping from 5 mph to 5.2 and the last 30 seconds going up to 5.5 mph! 5 minutes warm up then a 5 minute cool down. Forth, I still had energy to keep going!! Fifth, I have been insanely ill today. I have a tooth infection and have been on meds for two days now. My head has been killing me (jaw/ear/mouth/temple) to the point I was smashing my head into my desk today when a co-worker walked by and thought I was just overwhelmed with work. Lastly, I didn’t even think I was going to run! After work I went for a half hour walk thinking that would be it since I felt soo sick (by 6 pm I had already taken 6 T2’s today). I came back from the walk with insane energy, head felt good, stomach a bit off still, but all in all, I had this determination to succeed tonight. Boy did I ever rise to the occassion! WOOOOHOOO!

Although Nike+ is wrong in terms of distance, it’s still a good relative comparison over time as it is what I’m using to run on my iPod nano. Today, all of my running KMs averaged BELOW 7 minutes per km!!!! It’s been a long time since I’ve seen those numbers and I’m so excited to be reuinted with these results. COME ON NICE WEATHER!! I can’t wait to run the 5 KM route around my block….TWICE! πŸ˜€

liebsteraward

Thank you runat49 for nominating me!!! It’s a huge honour to be nominated for this! I love my blog and I love reading everyone else’s blogs that keep inspiring me to blog and run.

What is the Liebster award? Find out at strivebalance – Karen does a pretty great job at keeping it short and sweet.

This is a bit tougher for me as all I seem to blog about is running so let me give this a go and give you 11 random facts about me that I haven’t shared yet.

  1. I have been working for the same company for almost 9 years now (since August 2004).
  2. I just bought a complete new set of Golf clubs – I’ve never golfed in my life but I will start this summer!
  3. My mom made my dad go through the Burger King drive through when she went into labour with me – this must be why I love fast food! (runat49, I thought you’d like this)
  4. I am a hopeless romantic; I am not married but can’t wait to be.
  5. I have earned honours in my Bachelor of Commerce Degree majoring in Operations with a minor in Human Resource studies.
  6. I earned the President’s National Scholarship, at the University I earned that degree, for all 4 years. Only 5 students earn this award each year.
  7. I set extremely high expectations for myself and beat myself down too hard too often.
  8. As a kid I hated running but loved all other sports (I saw nothing great in running – boy was I wrong!)
  9. I have a tattoo on my right wrist that says LIVE β™’ LEARN β™’ GROW
  10. I find it easier to do nice things for others and treat others than to do the same for myself.
  11. I am super happy for Danni who recently won The Biggest Loser season 13. I have been cheering for her the entire time.

Now, the other part of this is to answer 11 questions that I have been asked.

  1. Who most influenced your life and why?
    My mom – she’s a warrior with insane stength: divorced, raised my brothers and me on her own without child support, had the strength to walk away, … I could go on but I think that paints a good picture. She has taught me to be strong, determined, and to never settle.
  2. Why did you start blogging?
    To raise awareness for the charities I am running for, and keep myself dedicated and accountable to running.
  3. What do you like most about blogging?
    Receiving Likes, followers, and visitors – this stuff means a lot to me. Also, I am able to be completely honest with my feelings, track my progress, and hold myself accountable for not doing it (because if I don’t blog, that means I didn’t run).
  4. What is your favorite movie and why?
    FIGHT CLUB – great plot, the movie was extremely well done (better than the book in my opinion) and we all have another side to us that we just don’t know about.
  5. What is your favorite book and why?
    The Outsiders – this book taught me a lot as a child…
  6. What was your favorite subject in school?
    No, it wasn’t gym… It was Math! I still love problem solving to this day. It’s kind of my job now. πŸ™‚
  7. What is your biggest goal for 2013?
    To complete two 10k races and raise money for good charities!
  8. Who do you admire most?
    I admire Terry Fox. A man who ran across Canada after losing a leg to cancer to build awareness deserves admiration from the world. I couldn’t be happier to run for the Terry Fox Foundation in September.
  9. What do you consider your best quality?
    I’ve been told I am too kind, I wear my heart out on my sleeve and always go above and beyond for others. I think these are pretty awesome qualities to have.
  10. Where would you move if you could move anywhere in the world?
    Jasper (the Rocky Mountains) if I didn’t have to work. I’d snowboard all winter long, and run through the mountains and forests all summer.
  11. What makes you happy?
    This one’s easy, RUNNING! But also family, food, snowboarding, and sleep also make me happy. πŸ™‚ .

FInally, I nominate these bloggers that have inspired me, check them out:

runrchatts
diannegrey
runat49 (I know you’ve already been nominated but I wanted people to check your story out too)
lesleycarter
running26point2
fitforayear
thestripedstrawberry
run5kaday

That’s all folks! I hope you enjoyed getting to know me a bit better.

Thanks for reading and constantly supporting me πŸ™‚

rundmach

P.S. I forgot to mention, today, it happened!!! I felt my breathe get steadier as I was running! Still tough holding a conversation but I wasn’t panting! Woooohoooo!

Categories: achievements, blog, Thank You | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “5K Liebster Award – 8:3 Success!

  1. Congratulations on the award and the run!

    How wonderful to receive the President’s National Scholarship – you are certainly one smart cookie, my friend πŸ˜€

    Also, thank you so much for the nomination – I’m very flattered πŸ˜‰

  2. CONGRATS on your nomination! And thank you so much for the shoutout! πŸ™‚ I also enjoyed reading your 11 random facts!

    And it sounds like you’re making great strides on your running performance as well! (No pun intended.) πŸ™‚

    -Beverly

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

