Finding Motivation 8:2

Good Morning,

Yesterday was my cheat day. At work we had Pizza and Beer for lunch. I had 5 small square slices of delicious pizza, a muffin, a cookie, and kettle corn popcorn. On the plus side I didn’t have any beer! I went for a bigger walk last night as well as planned to run… That plan failed, but I woke up this morning and ran.

March 16 Run: 43 minutes, 3.36 miles, (5.75 km on Nike+)

20130316-112707.jpgThis was a very challenging run. After the 5 minute warm up walk I was already exhausted and wanted to stop… Every minute dragged on of running. Luckily I found encouragement and inspiration. I had to force the bad negative thoughts into positive ones. Not there’s still 2 miles to go, instead, I’ve done a mile already! It took a lot to celebrate the wins but with everyone’s support and knowing the positive reinforcements around me, I trekked on and finished the run!

Not to complain some more, but to add to my knee still being messed up, I’ve been having insane jaw/ear/head pains. It’s been so bad I wake up in pain at night. Sometimes I just want to smash my face into a wall to make it better. I’m only bringing this up now because it’s the only thing on my mind as the pain is distracting my thoughts. It’s been over two weeks of this. I think I’ll be going to a walk in clinic today to see what’s going on.

Anyways, the next run is 5k… After today’s run, I’m a little fearful. I hope the weather turns around and I can do the 5k outside. I am beginning to love the treadmill though: it pushes me to regulate my speed, I avoid pushing any buttons now which means I never stop until the plan says I should, music is much more enjoyable and easier to control over wifi (using online radio) and I have the visual of my iPad sitting in front of me counting every minute down.

On another note, I will need to work on rebuilding my music folders and a few 10k running playlists for when I start running outside again. I get bored of music quickly and need to change it up pretty regularly as I can listen to anything but find it hard to pull energy from repetitive playlists. What do you run to?

Anyways 5k is next… I’ll see you soon!

Have a wonderful weekend readers, runners, supporters, and friends!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Finding Motivation 8:2

  1. You had me at pizza and beer for lunch – YUM! 😀

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

