Baby Steps, 6:1

Hi There,

It’s been 10 days since my last run, today, I ran! … It was really a jog but it still counts!

February 11 Run/Jog: 34 minutes, 2.26 miles (3.79km on Nike+)
6-1

imagesCAUT02OJMy knee is still not recovered but I couldn’t take it anymore! I needed to run! So tonight, I got changed (9:30 pm), stretched out my legs extra longer than usual, walked at 3-3.5 mph and ran each interval at 4.5 mph. This is the slowest I’ve ever “ran” since starting this plan but it was nice. It was easy but still very painful on my knee; I ran with a limp and wasn’t trying to. I am taking it a bit easy and not push myself too hard. Slow and steady…

I know I may not be running at the speed I need to be to stay on plan BUT I am still running. As long as I keep running, I know I will get to the finish line!

Taking it slower was great. Tonight I got the chance to practice breathing. This is how you know I’m a beginner runner still, I don’t breathe properly. My friend Robert has always told me to learn to breathe and running will be much easier. He’s able to run forever at an easy pace because of his breathing. I don’t breathe well for the fact that I’m a chest breather and runners are recommended to breathe through their bellies. It still hasn’t clicked in my mind to just naturally breathe through my stomach; I’ve been practicing my breathing even off of the treadmill.

I hope that the next run is better on my knee and I can go a little bit faster. Until then…

Good night for now 🙂

rundmach

p.s. I forgot to talk about how my snowboarding went the other night. I love snowboarding! It was amazing and it was just puking snow outside! I didn’t hurt myself EXCEPT for being on the chairlift… somehow, I got smoked at the chairlift getting on. I wish it was recorded, it looked like something that would have been on the funniest home videos. It wasn’t funny at the time when I fell and smashed my head on the ground but after I opened my eyes and was thankful I wore a helmet, it was funny. I hurt my neck in that fall from a bit of whip lash (I’m guessing from my head being thrown up off the ground after the impact). So, I hope this let’s you know a bit more about me, Snowboarding is the other love of my life and although it has been a while, the love never dies. This should also give you a better understanding that I am pretty accident prone (trampoline injury, snowboarding injury)… I’m pretty clumsy sometimes… most of the time!

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Baby Steps, 6:1

  1. Oh dear! Falling off the chairlift would have hurt! 😦

    So glad to hear you’re running again. Trying to breathe from your belly while your running is probably like trying to pat your head and rub your stomach at the same time! 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

