Doing the Time, 5:3

Good Afternoon (or Morning, or Evening wherever you are :)),

This picture made me laugh so hard and it's kind of true. I hope you enjoy it too! :)

This picture made me laugh so hard and it’s kind of true. I hope you enjoy it too! 🙂

It’s Friday and I didn’t have to work today! It’s been a bit overwhelming at work so I decided to use up some vacation time and make this week short. I’ve scheduled quite a few other days off for the month of February. Can you believe it?! It’s February 1st already! Where did January* go? I guess it just ran past me! ha-ha…

This morning I didn’t sleep in too much. Woke up maybe an hour later than I normally would for work. Had a bit of breakfast and went for a walk in the -16°C weather but it was nice and sunny. It felt great being outside during daylight! With the crazy Canadian weather, most days, I get to work and it’s light out but there’s no sun and by the time I leave work, it’s dark out.

My last run definitely was a challenge because today my legs are a little sore.

I had a lot of plans for today and didn’t get through them all but I did get to run!

February 1 Run: 30 minutes, 2.39 miles (3.6km on Nike+)

5-3

Today I kind of followed plan. I did the run time but I didn’t do the distance… On the app, the time went 5 minute warm up, 20 minute run, 5 minute cool down. Instead of doing the 2.25 miles in the 20 minutes, I did 1.76 miles. At first I went into this run thinking I would do the distance regardless of the time but once the app changed and said to start walking, I noticed I had another 1/2 mile to go, so I listened to my aching body and walked.

The slightly troublesome part is that I didn’t run on an incline today and ran at 5.3 mph, hoping this “easier” pace would have gotten me to run the extra ~5 minutes I needed to get to the 2.25 goal.

I want to repeat this interval until I can run 2.25 miles straight before going further. This sets me a little behind because I won’t be running tomorrow (going to be playing trampoline dodgeball!). I’ll be creeping into next week’s plan as I repeat week 5.

I’ve decided even though I want to do the 2.25 mile straight before moving on, I will just stick to the plan (unless somehow I find time to run Sunday).
Week 6, day 1 and 2 seem a bit easier with walking intervals. At Week 6, day 3, I will be running 2.25 miles straight. This time when I get to this day, I will do the distance and not the time! 🙂

I’m excited for the weekend: Trampoline dodgeball Saturday, all you can eat birthday buffet lunch Sunday, and a big family dinner Sunday night! Sunday will definitely be a write off day but I’m excited to see this side of my family (we see each other about once or twice a year) and rest!

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Doing the Time, 5:3

  1. Trampoline dodgeball sounds amazing! 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

