Confused at 5:2

Hi there,

Tonight I repeated the last run plan hoping I could get a bit more comfortable running it a little faster. Somehow, the numbers just don’t make sense to me anymore. Either I am just a sucky runner or Nike+ and my Treadmill are from two different universes.

January 30 Run: 31 minutes, 2.34 miles (3.6 km on Nike+)

Last year, I had come to the conclusion that Nike+ was wrong no matter what I did. I thought this may have just been because I was running outside. Tonight, I ran the same as I did the last run, BUT increased my speed from 5.3 mph to 5.4 mph for both of the 8 minute running intervals. Somehow, on Nike+ my average speed went from 8’14″/km down to 8’36″/km today. Treadmill says I ran the same distance of 2.34 miles both times while Nike+ says I did 3.61km today and 3.76 km last run. Well, I am puzzled but all that matters is I got on that treadmill and ran. Hopefully it was enough that I can advance to the next run (5:3), which is a little scary…

Maybe I was running at a slower pace, the second 8 minute interval felt like death! Maybe I didn’t let my dinner digest enough before running. Maybe I just can’t be running at 5.4 mph. Maybe I just need a heart rate monitor. Maybe I am just not trying hard enough. Maybe I’m over thinking this. Maybe I’m concentrating on the numbers too much. Maybe I just need to stop thinking. Maybe, maybe, maybe. So many possibilities but one thing is true, I finished the run. All I need to do is just RUN.

rundmach

just-run

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

