Moving On, 5:1

mime-attachment

I’m not a calorie counter but this is how I feel right now.

This morning had been a very emotional one for me. It started off nice as I woke up with a smile on my face. All night, I dreamt about running and was excited to get on the treadmill when I woke up.
It’s Sunday, that means weigh in day for me. It’s been 3 weeks now and I haven’t lost a single pound. Instead of being disappointed and sad, I was more angry and frustrated over this result. It’s not as if I’m eating horrible foods but I’m not cutting them out. I refuse to. I know I can lose weight and keep eating whatever I want, whether it’s chips or carrots. I like healthy and junky foods. I believe I have a decent balance of both. So why am I not losing any weight? It’s past the point where I’m feeling down about it, I’m just simply angry with this situation.Today, I’ve moved on to the next week a day in advance. Week 5, Day 1. I stepped up and ran each running interval at 5.3 mph. This run included three 5 minute runs and walking in between.

January 27 Run: 31 minutes, 2.25 miles (3.5 km)

By the last run of this week, I should be able to run the entire 2.25 miles (3.6 km) straight. It seems out of reach right now but we’ll see what happens during the week. I will move onto 5:2 for the next run but I plan on repeating that workout a couple of times this week before doing the final run for this week and attempting the 2.25 miles straight.

I’m reading everyone’s blogs and they are definitely inspirational and motivational. I like seeing how determined you all are out there. Thank you all for putting up your blogs and sharing your stories with everyone. I’m struggling to find my inspiration to running for myself but I hope to find it soon.


rundmach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Moving On, 5:1

  1. Jamie Roszel

    Great job getting out there running, would you mind if I gave you a little advice about the running and weight loss? I hate to throw out info if it’s not really wanted! I’m no expert, but I have experience with running and losing weight.

    • Please, share away. I will always take in information.

      • Jamie Roszel

        Ok, here goes: Your heart rate really matters when running. I wear a heart rate monitor and stay in my Zone 2, which is the aerobic zone. This means that my heart is pumping enough blood and oxygen to my muscles that I can maintain it for a long time. Above that, and you go toward anaerobic exercise, which is going to increase speed and strength, but may not impact aerobic fitness, or body fat, all that much. You’ll be building muscle and not really losing weight. So, if you can’t, or don’t want to, train by heart rate, you can comfortably train by Rate of Perceived Effort (RPE), on a scale of 1-5. 1 is walking, and you can speak plainly. 2 is the sweet spot, you are running, or walking fast (depending on fitness) and you can speak in complete sentences, but you’re breathing harder. 3 is tougher, and you can speak in short clips of words. 4 is tough: you can speak, but not a lot. 5 is all out: you can’t talk, and you can hold this pace for long at all. To increase speed over time, and decrease body fat, run slowly, often (like my blog’s name). This increases aerobic fitness, reduces impact on joints, and trains your body to run. It worked for me: I started running about 1 1/2 years ago, and I’ve lost around 30 lbs. Of course, I also swim and bike, and that’s more recent. I hope this helps! There is a ton of support for this method if you’d like some links or anything.

  2. I’ve been running for 10 months and lost a lot of weight, but it didn’t seem to come off until I ran 4 miles In a run. That was my perception at least. Now I have stopped loosing weight even though I run 40 miles a week. I could stand to loose 25 lbs, but I just can’t. This isn’t scientific, but I wonder of my body is holding onto the weight knowing it will need fuel for the next 40 miles. I just don’t know. I like what Jamie said. My ultimate thought is, run and try not to worry about the weight. One day I’ll figure this stuff out. Great post and video. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

