Painful

Happy Friday!

Today for my one treat item, I indulged in a doughnut and everyone made me feel so fat and guilty for it, I didn’t even get to really enjoy it… Everyday I allow myself one thing that’s not the best but is the reason I am able to hold down cravings; whether it is a small bag of chips or a piece of chocolate, I choose to have one small snack in the middle of the day on days where it’s tough to fight my urges. This really helps fight my cravings as I can have a big bag of chips all to myself or a whole box of candy bars in one sitting.

At work today, a friend helped me realize how my desk was not set up the best since she was talking about hers. With all this running and back pain, I tried to move my monitors around and lift my chair to be a bit more ergonomically correct. It helped my neck and back out a bit actually. Still not perfect but an improvement from looking downwards at my monitors.

After work, I got home and sat around to relax while my treadmill was staring right back at me. Guess I had to run and earn that doughnut…

January 18 Run: 30 minutes, 2.21 miles (3.5 km)

Although tonight was a short run, I walked 2 minutes, ran 23 minutes, and walked 5 minutes. I ran at 4.7mph on the treadmill and that was tough! I know it’s slow but it will get better. Today’s was challenging and I am proud of myself for getting to 23 minutes! I made checkpoints where I fooled myself saying I would stop to walk at 10 minutes, then 15, then 20, and in the end I finished 23 straight before settling down to walk. This was also a tough run because this is the first time ever my knees hurt. The insides of my knees, my lower back, and neck hurt as I ran… This is in addition to my rolls jiggling and flubber cramping up everywhere… The one factor I can think of besides needing to stretch more or getting my posture right at work, is the fact that I may need new shoes.

New shoes!! I think I’ll go shoe shopping tomorrow! I can’t really afford it but my current runners have last me quite a while. Trained in them all last year, went to mount doom and back in middle earth with them, and ran my first 5k in them. Hopefully new shoes will help solve my problems in my feet, knees, neck, and back. Sounds like I’m looking for miracle shoes.

What do you like to run in?

D Mach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Painful

  1. Middle Earth lol.
    By the way it sounds like you can’t afford not to get new shoes. In other words you need them!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

