It’s About Timing

Hello World!!

Tonight marks a breakthrough in treadmill running for me. Lately, I’ve been struggling with slowing the treadmill down whenever I felt like I couldn’t go on or felt a pain. The treadmill I got only does preset workouts built-in or a manual time and one speed (in which you change the speeds manually as you run). I choose the manual one, but what I really want to do is be able to create my program to set it to specific miles per hour for specific lengths of time… So this is how I end up running 8 minutes walking 1 or 2… running 5 minutes walking 1 or 2… and so on..

I overcame that problem a bit tonight by telling myself, that it is OKAY to run/jog below 5 miles per hour… for whatever reason, since I’ve started running on the treadmill, it’s been 6, 5.5, or 5 mph and walking at 3.5 or 4 mph.

January 17 Run/Jog: 45 minutes, 3.32 miles (5.3 km…5.6 km on Nike +)

2 minute walk, 20 minute jog/run at 4.7-5 mph, 2 minute walk, 8 minute run, 1 minute walk, 6 minute run, 1 minute walk, 2 minute’s emptying the tank – 5.5 km up to 6 km, 1 minute walk, 1 minute jog (4.7 km), and 2 minute cool down walk.

I had to add-on 5 minutes in another session on the treadmill because it doesn’t let you add time to a workout in process… a little silly… Seriously, if anyone owns a Livestrong treadmill, please help me out!

The entire run, I was feeling pain in spots that didn’t even exist before, flubber bouncing around, rolls cramping up, … etc.. By 33 minutes, my ankle was hurting in a way it’s never hurt before. I kept telling myself that I said I’d run another 3 minutes before I could stop, but it hurt so bad… I kept telling myself, I can do this, and the pain past… But about 10 seconds later my opposite foot was hurting in the arch and in my toes! I’m not saying all of this complaining but just explaining how much it did hurt to run but I just pushed through the pain today. Today was about getting to the time and if it meant running a little slower, under 5 mph, then that’s what I had to do to run for a longer period of time; 20 minutes straight, 45 minutes total! 🙂

Today I had to force myself to think positively; to think that “I’ve done this before, I can do this now, I want this for me, I want this for my future”. I thought about how I want to feel healthy and sexy again. I want to be comfortable laying on my couch without feeling rolls getting in the way when I’m trying to curl up…

~JUST THINK HAPPY THOUGHTS~

I am very excited that I did 45 minutes of exercise today!! Nike+ says I ran at an average pace of 8 minutes and 9 seconds per km while my first 5 km’s were all below 7’44″/km. That’s really exciting! It’s the last 0.6 km that I had walked to slow down that slowed down my average pace.

jan17

This means all I have to do is double my current run time and I can do the 10 km! I have not set any time goals as many others do for races… Currently, I would just like to finish the race and get to that 10 km mark.

camp-oochOff to the finish line!!… in another 114 days… 16 weeks to go! …

Please don’t forgot to donate to the children I am also running for. I know I may be running for my health but I’m also fundraising for sick children with cancer to go to summer camps!!! Please donate here, or read more about my journey for this charity and the charity here.

Thank you for taking your time to read my blog!

Cheers,

run.d.mach

Categories: blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s About Timing

  1. Adjustable dumbbells can also be useful for when you’re working out different muscle groups. So your very own stomach fat is actually progressively using up along with growing to be muscle mass. These muscle groups form the woman’s abdominals, and are actually made of twitch muscle fibers that are denser than the other remaining types of muscles.

  2. Excellent publish, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t understand this. You should proceed your writing. I’m confident, you have a great readers’ base already!|What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & aid other customers like its helped me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

