Breather

Good Morning Readers,

I wanted to blog this morning even though I did not run today. I have ran the past 3 days straight and thought I needed to take today off. There were so many reasons to this; I did not want to injure myself by pushing too hard; I needed to catch up on some rest; my body said no today, not my head; this was my first 3 day streak running; and I want to rest today so I can tackle 5 k again tomorrow. With all these reasons, I felt it was best not to run this morning….

Now, I just don’t feel right. I wish I had gotten up and went for even a small 3 k jog. I’m not sure if I’m ready for a day at work, I’m not sure if I can be as positive.

There is something wonderful I have discovered. I have never been happier than I am now. I feel good when I’m running and I feel great the rest of the day. Nothing gets to me. I no longer get as irritated as easily. I feel as if everything in the world comes secondary to taking care of my health and myself first. This is a revelation as I’ve always been told I wear my heart out on my sleeve and care too much about making others happy. Now I do both, and I couldn’t ask for more.

So, today is a breather and I have to accept that the choice to take a day off is a wise one. I will get back out tomorrow morning, I miss it already!

Something so good can’t be bad for you if you do it every day right? Or 5 days a week?

Is this the lingering effects of this so called runners high? Is it runners high that I have?

I love running.

Until tomorrow,
– D Mach

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my donation page and support a good cause @ www.runforthecure.com/goto/rundmach

Categories: blog | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

